OLD White-rodgers Thermostat - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2011, 03:44 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question

OLD white-rodgers thermostat


Hello Everyone,

I am attempting to install a new Honey Well Thermostat.
"Model RTH-8500"

My old Thermostat is a Approx. 35 yr old White-Rodgers
"Model ?"

I cant find a Model written anywhere on it.
After Reading the Manual on the Honeywell Thermostat it seems
very easy to install but I only have two Wires to the best of my knowledge.

Please Assist anyway you can.

I see the Letters and corresponding wires and little screws but I dont know if im supposed to have more wires. Or do I have to run more wires
from my furnace.

A little history: I have replaced my furnace with a new furnace about 4 years ago. It is a very fancy 97% efficient Tempstar Unit.

So it is a little daunting to see that only Two wires are still required to run the new furnace.

Here are some Pictures Of my old thermostat in case someone can tell me the model number. If I can get a model number or assistance in installing my new thermostat that would be very much appreciated.


Sincerely,


Sharpgill

Advertisement

sharpgill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 04:08 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question

OLD white-rodgers thermostat


These are the pictures corresponding to the previous question I posted.
Attached Images
   

Advertisement

sharpgill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 04:15 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 636
Rewards Points: 500
Default

OLD white-rodgers thermostat


All you need is two wires:R and W. These will give you heat. You could run 4 wires total, if you so desired. In addition to R and W, you could hook up C, to power the new stat, and G, to let you control the fan (off/on/auto). What your thermostat does now is turn your "very fancy furnace" on when heat is needed, and off when it reaches the desired temperature. It basically acts as a switch between the two wires. When heat is needed, it closes the connection, and when heat is no longer required, it opens the connection, thereby turning off the heat.
hvac benny is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvac benny For This Useful Post:
sharpgill (04-03-2011)
Old 04-03-2011, 06:04 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question

OLD white-rodgers thermostat


thank you bud,

but is there any features that I can incorporate from my new furnace?

by adding more wires directly from the furnace.

is there anything that i can do to make it run even more efficiently or effectively?


will my new thermostat benefit by adding more connections so that I can
some how achieve a smaller monthly bill?


I appreciate your reply thank you

sharpgill
sharpgill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 07:19 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,414
Rewards Points: 4,480
Default

OLD white-rodgers thermostat


Post full model number of furnace. So we know if its 2 stage and ifit has a VS blower or not.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
sharpgill (04-03-2011)
Old 04-03-2011, 06:26 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Post

OLD white-rodgers thermostat


Here are the pictures of my Furnace.

It is a Tempstar.

I took pictures of the manual but realized that the manual was for more than one model....

So the I opened the unit and took pictures of the Model Number from inside the Unit.

Thank you again.


sharpgill
Attached Thumbnails
OLD white-rodgers thermostat-iphone-import-pictures-april-3-2011-291.jpg   OLD white-rodgers thermostat-iphone-import-pictures-april-3-2011-296.jpg   OLD white-rodgers thermostat-iphone-import-pictures-april-3-2011-297.jpg   OLD white-rodgers thermostat-iphone-import-pictures-april-3-2011-305.jpg   OLD white-rodgers thermostat-iphone-import-pictures-april-3-2011-300.jpg  

OLD white-rodgers thermostat-iphone-import-pictures-april-3-2011-306.jpg  

Advertisement

sharpgill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issues rathipon HVAC 4 01-29-2011 12:46 PM
Can a single stage thermostat used on 2 stage heat pump? deerhunter HVAC 10 11-07-2010 12:43 AM
Thermostat wiring jetmanaz HVAC 1 08-09-2009 08:13 PM
Thermostat help needed rjkleiner HVAC 1 08-05-2009 07:46 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts