Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-31-2012, 07:53 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Old Slab Duct Work


I live in a house with duct work in the concrete slab. My furnace is currently set up as a downflow and I have a humidity problem even in the winter months, especially in the summer. I plan on flipping my furnace to a upflow routing new duct work and abandoning the ducts in the slab. I am pretty confident that I can follow the instructions in the installation manual on changing things in the furnace for it to be upflow. I have some pretty good reference material on designing duct work. My question is what should be done with the old duct work in the slab?

Handy DIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 08:00 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,518
Rewards Points: 4,152
Default

Old Slab Duct Work


Just leave it and block off the vents.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 08:35 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Old Slab Duct Work


What material would I use to block off the vent? Subfloor over the vent opening, sytrofoam insulation, what would be best?
Handy DIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 01:44 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Old Slab Duct Work


I've done the same thing at work. All we do is pour bentonite down the duck, put some 3/4" rock in, and concrete on the top.
Grayguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:17 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,247
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Old Slab Duct Work


At each floor register I would fill with stone up to about 3"s from the finished floor the add non shrink grout to level off.

At the heater location I would fill with stone then concrete.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 09:06 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 210
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Old Slab Duct Work


what about using the old ductwork for return air? you could have return ducts in each room.

av-geek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with new duct work trunk running to attic from basement. coderguy HVAC 8 10-02-2011 11:22 AM
Duct formed in slab reckless HVAC 2 10-01-2011 09:53 AM
Duct Work Too Small? Dakotamade HVAC 3 09-02-2011 01:34 PM
short circuit. reset the breaker, but no power bp91708 Electrical 10 03-18-2011 11:07 AM
Install new vent/register into existing duct work? Jughead HVAC 11 12-09-2010 06:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.