Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-19-2011, 09:40 PM   #16
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Old rheem hvac problem


A lot of older units will not have a proper ground wire to them. The ground wire I am talking about will be coming in with the high voltage (110 and 110 equaling 220) electrical wires to the unit from the electrical service panel. Some people try and ground unit's through the duct work or metal hanging strap and it fails. The theory behind that is metal anything will make a path to the home (which is grounded) and in these cases you will not have a ground wire to the unit. Not the sure fire way to ground anything and not to code and many, many false ground readings effecting flame sensors because of this. The flame sensor has to have a solid ground to sense the flame or else it will not always ignite as it's only sometimes sensing the flame. If it does not always sense the flame it acts like it has a mind of it's own, seriously tempermental, sometimes on and sometimes off, like you are experiencing.

You need a solidly connecting ground wire from the home's electrical service panel to the unit.

No two ways about it. Have that done and your flame sensing problems are over.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
Daulton (03-23-2011)
Old 03-20-2011, 01:56 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Old rheem hvac problem


Thanks again guys for the safety tips. I may be doing a lot of renovation on my kids homes in the near future so those common sense reminders are good to know.

I haven't changed any of the wiring other than installing the igniter. I'm pretty careful when it comes to gas and electricity. I just cleaned all the connections on the terminal block and checked connections.

This morning the heater came on after only 30 minutes and it's raining and cold outside. I believe, if the unit keeps working the way it is, I can direct my efforts to other issues. If it goes bad again I'll just buy another flame sensor and hope that does it.

We are budgeting for another unit for next season.

I really appreciate the input from the professionals and others who have contributed.

Thank you again.

P.S. I'll be starting a new string about the furnace under my daughter's 1925 era house which is sitting in a five foot deep dirt hole. I need to disconnect it and pull it out.

Daulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with old Rheem furnace ignition Troublefix HVAC 7 02-02-2011 04:52 PM
Septic problem or vent problem? wilsonstark Plumbing 9 01-17-2011 07:35 PM
Inefficient HVAC. Rasputin HVAC 12 06-13-2008 09:22 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 07:26 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 02:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.