Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-28-2010, 12:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Question

old house no ductwork


how do you go about adding hvac ductwork to an old house wich had boiler/radiator heat? this house is on a slight crawl space but is very difficult to access crawl space, plus it has multiple peaks so no continous access to attic. any help would be great.

kenl69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 12:29 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,408
Default

old house no ductwork


Where do you live? Is your electricity reasonable in cost? how much per Kwh. How big is the house. There are minisplit heatpumps and other heating options for heating and cooling rather than forced air.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 02:37 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,052
Default

old house no ductwork


Your question is hard to answer without seeing the house.
Depends on how big the crawlspace is. And how easy access to it is, or isn't.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 06:11 PM   #4
Senior Tech.
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Default

old house no ductwork


My daughter has 10 foot ceilings. I ran exposed spiral. I had seen it done on one of my calls and thought it looked cool.

It takes some getting used to, I guess. It is a conversation piece.
Milk man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 08:14 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

old house no ductwork


Might want to look into a unico system.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2010, 08:22 PM   #6
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Blog Entries: 7
Default

old house no ductwork


Also consider mini-splits. These are commonly used in 'old house' applications. We considered the Unico and are going to do the mini-splits instead.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 07:25 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Question

old house no ductwork


this is a 150 year old 2 story house with 4.5 bedrooms upstairs and a full bath and laundry room, and eat-in kitchen and livivg room and office/5 bedroom downstairs. the crawl space varies in depth from 2 ft. to nothing in spots. the upstairs has been added to twice so the attics are not accessable without major cutting and re-stucturing. this all used to be plaster and lat, but has been re-done downstairs. what are mini-splits? electricity has just doybled in price in ohio, so would prefer to avoid elec. if possible

Last edited by kenl69; 03-03-2010 at 07:28 AM.
kenl69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 05:54 PM   #8
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,408
Default

old house no ductwork


Google air to air heat pumps for more info. Minisplit is a type of A/C and can be bought as a heat pump combo also:http://www.fujitsugeneral.com/wallmounted9-12RL.htm
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 04:55 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 27
Default

old house no ductwork


A system I've installed which works well in your application is to install the furnace/coil in the basement below an unused closet/ and or space on the first floor where a plenum can come up through the floor (corner area of large room?) , then shoot off one large (or opposite directions depending on layout) rectangular ductwork along the inside wall to feed all of the upstairs rooms and catch the downstairs at the ceiling levels. Once the rectangular is framed in and drywalled (headered)...you can just cut out the duct openings for the downstairs and install the register boots. Depending on where the rooms are upstairs...it can pose a challenge to running ducts to those rooms. A lot of times though...the rooms at the farthest end of the rectangular ductwork(s) can be installed with round duct running along the front wall and headed off also.

If you don't have any basement, or it's in an inconvenient location...about the only way this application can work is in an unused closet, then you can use the walls on both sides of the closet as returns to the furnace. The upstairs would obv need a separate return air ran.

Affordable7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My house's previous owner - DIY horror stories Leah Frances General DIY Discussions 128 03-18-2014 06:41 AM
Connecting main house to guest house... hlavine Building & Construction 31 03-28-2012 09:04 AM
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 04:45 AM
Trane XR12 1.5 ton-Too small for my house? Badfish740 HVAC 7 09-23-2009 05:48 AM
I have Central Heating & Air, but house won't cool down..HELP!! exiledone1 HVAC 13 07-10-2009 10:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.