Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-14-2010, 02:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

old furnace with bizarre filter setup


Hello,
I just moved into an older home that had extensive renovations, but the furnace is quite old. I went down to change the furnace filter, and I was surprised what I saw.. refer to the attached diagram (basically saw two 15x20 filters taped together and not actually on the the metal meant to support them).

I then found out that getting 15x20 filters is difficult: they seem to be very uncommon (not at home depot in any brand/style etc). So i figured the easiest/cheapest thing to do would be to convert the slots to fit a more common size.. (i had in mind 14x20 since the metal railings would support it with minor tweaking). I went out and bought a bunch of filters (was out of town and there was a fantastic sale - 3m filtrete micro allergy). This represents idea #1.

I later started thinking about the reason why they would setup the furnace in such a way (something i should have thought of earlier).. and figured it is probably an airflow thing (more surface area.. more air flow). THEN I read that the filtrete filters are considered crap by some hvac people because of airflow. So then I started thinking about doing idea #2...

I basically have 3 questions:
1. I was hoping to save money by using one filter at a time and changing it out as needed (originally thinking along 3m's recommendations of 3 months). If I used idea #2, would I need to change out the filters less often then idea #1?

2. If I use idea #2 then would I get more airflow (and less stress on the system)?

3. Why would they (the maker of the furnace) make such a setup?

Recommendations? Keep in mind that I don't want to toss the 10 filters I already bought. Please excuse my grade 3 level paint skills. Thanks for any help!
Attached Thumbnails
old furnace with bizarre filter setup-furnace.jpg  

utek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 03:52 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

old furnace with bizarre filter setup


I see no problem with Idea 2 or 3.. Filter replacment depend on how dusty / your filter gets 1mo 2mo 3mo etc. Doesn't matter what the filter says

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 08:49 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 192
Default

old furnace with bizarre filter setup


delete

Last edited by hpyjack2013; 10-14-2013 at 08:55 PM.
hpyjack2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump infoskr HVAC 34 11-20-2013 04:24 PM
filter in concord 80 plus furnace hyyx632 HVAC 5 12-12-2008 10:21 PM
Wet furnace filter ??? dc4nomore Appliances 10 11-10-2008 12:24 AM
First Furnace Install - Need Some Help Getting Started hartkem HVAC 17 10-11-2008 11:55 AM
Add-on Wood furnace billmac HVAC 3 06-18-2008 09:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.