Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-23-2009, 12:28 PM   #16
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Share |
Default

Old bryant Payne furance problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by adman77 View Post
You guys think i should try a seperate wire connecting from the circuit box directly to the furnace box?

To rule out this leak of any kind?

What do furnaces use anyways? 15amp 20?
12 gauge wire or 14?


Thanks
There is no such thing as a voltage leak. They were giving you a line because they don't know what they are doing.
Did you try to jump the R to W? You can remove the T-stat and do it there if you feel more comfortable. We need to start with the basics before we go any deeper.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 12:42 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Old bryant Payne furance problem


Hey ya John
I agree with ya on that.

I will jump the wires tonight,see if i can get a spark or click or anything atleast.

I will update later tomorrow

Thanks again for your help.


adman77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 01:09 PM   #18
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Old bryant Payne furance problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnH1 View Post
There is no such thing as a voltage leak. They were giving you a line because they don't know what they are doing.
Did you try to jump the R to W? You can remove the T-stat and do it there if you feel more comfortable. We need to start with the basics before we go any deeper.

There is a phenomena called voltage leakage. And in a overtly technical examination of the furnace fault, it could be used to describe the furnace fault.

However it does go above and beyond the normal tech jargon one would use when explaining a furnace problem to a HO.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subthreshold_leakage
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 01:50 PM   #19
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Default

Old bryant Payne furance problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
There is a phenomena called voltage leakage. And in a overtly technical examination of the furnace fault, it could be used to describe the furnace fault.

However it does go above and beyond the normal tech jargon one would use when explaining a furnace problem to a HO.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subthreshold_leakage
I guess the repair guys could have been electronics experts. But since they walked away with a basicly Uhh I duno I dout they were. Now I myself couldent walk away. I have to figure it out or it will keep me awake at night. It would make me nuts not to figure something out! I guess that why some of us find our way to thes sites. We just have to keep thinking and figuring things out. It feels good to solve problems.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 05:39 PM   #20
Member
 
Dr Heat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern Central IL
Posts: 94
Default

Old bryant Payne furance problem


you should only as a test. 15 amp 14ga is fine

Not to rule out the "Leak" but if you dropped neutral or reversed polarity

Last edited by Dr Heat; 01-23-2009 at 05:45 PM.
Dr Heat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 09:56 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Old bryant Payne furance problem


OKay


Here is what i had done.
I ran a direct line from the circuit box to the furnace wire.

I had jumped the thermostat Red and white wire.

After powering the unit back on and having the t-stat set to auto.
Nothing happened.
The only thing i had seen,which i dont know if it has shown up before, on the t-stat. When i switch to auto" error" comes up.
But when i set the furnace to the " on" position, it blows out cold air and no error comes up.

I had even reset the t-stat and when i set it from off to auto, it took a few seconds then error came back up.
Just says " error "


I did not see or hear anything come on or light , not even a click, which i thought normally would happen.

Anyone know what the next step would be to try?

Thanks
adman77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 04:09 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Old bryant Payne furance problem


Let me know what you think i can do next Guys.
Its cold out here in the North east.

=)
adman77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 04:33 PM   #23
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Default

Old bryant Payne furance problem


I would take the thermostat out of the equation. Disconect it compleatly from the furnace and jump only the r & w at the furnace. Also make sure you have hot and ground correct if they are reversed it may not operate.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 05:12 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Old bryant Payne furance problem


HI
Okay, i had disconnected all thermostat wires from the furnaces circuit board.
A red,white and green wire.


Am i jumping the red and white thermostat wires itself?
If so, that is what i had done before.

If you are refering to another red and white wire somewhere on the furnace, i may need some more help on choosing which ones.

Thanks
adman77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 05:20 PM   #25
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Default

Old bryant Payne furance problem


The r and w termemols on the furnace itself were the thermostat connects to the furnace
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 05:47 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Old bryant Payne furance problem


OKay,this is what i tried.

I had jumped the t-stat wires on the circuit board.
The furnace blower came on for about 2 seconds then stopped and that was that.i could not get it to repeat that again.even unplugged power and all that.
adman77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 05:52 PM   #27
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Old bryant Payne furance problem


If you didn't disconnect the white and red wire at the board you blew the stat.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 06:10 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Old bryant Payne furance problem


Yikes.I blew my stat?
I just checked it, it has a little fuse in it,looks okay.
I have one of those electronic t-stats

I had put the cover back on and reconnected the red and white wires back to the circuit board.

What can i do next?
adman77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 06:21 PM   #29
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Old bryant Payne furance problem


Be the first stat I ever saw with a fuse.

What kind do you have?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 06:25 PM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Old bryant Payne furance problem


its a robertshaw 9600 digital tstat
adman77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical "arcing" problem? morden5b Electrical 17 12-17-2008 06:10 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 06:26 PM
Bryant Plus 90 start up problem mgraw HVAC 2 01-07-2008 05:54 PM
Problem with Payne ultra 90 Mark H HVAC 19 12-31-2007 08:25 PM
Furance Problem molly_38 General DIY Discussions 3 11-11-2006 02:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.