Oil Tank Whistle - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-16-2010, 11:29 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

oil tank whistle


Hello,

Just got my first oil tank fill and they guy wrote on the slip "no whistle". How can I address this? Is it a DIY job? I have "oil tank" coverage on my plan with the oil company. Is the whistle covered by that?

Thanks

Advertisement

dwheelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 11:56 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,031
Rewards Points: 700
Default

oil tank whistle


Phone the oil company and see if it is covered. NOT a DIY job. Piping from top of tank needs to be altered to add one or opened to replace the existing one. Dangerous to not have one as the tank can get overfilled and then you have a EPA problem with contaminated soil etc. BAD news then.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 11:59 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,401
Rewards Points: 4,454
Default

oil tank whistle


Call your company and ask them. We don't know what you contract covers. We haven't seen the contract.

Unless the driver could see the tank while filling it. He should not have filled it without the whistle working.
Most drivers won't.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 10:18 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 135
Rewards Points: 75
Default

oil tank whistle


Is there a whistle installed but not working?
Artco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 09:58 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Default

oil tank whistle


Quote:
Originally Posted by Artco View Post
Is there a whistle installed but not working?
yes, i assume so...........i think the oil guy meant he could not hear one. I think all tanks have one. the house is ~30yo so I think the whistle just stopped working?
dwheelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 10:02 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,401
Rewards Points: 4,454
Default

oil tank whistle


Probably a spider web in the vent cap's screen.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low hot water pressure crebive Plumbing 38 02-26-2013 01:26 AM
Oil tank whistle valve install toxic oreo HVAC 10 12-27-2009 09:42 PM
Toilet jpark Plumbing 18 01-05-2009 08:12 AM
Nightmare water tank job Marvin Gardens Plumbing 6 11-04-2008 12:09 PM
Upstairs toilet pipe noise bliss Plumbing 8 01-10-2008 08:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts