Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2010, 10:29 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 12
Share |
Default

oil tank whistle


Hello,

Just got my first oil tank fill and they guy wrote on the slip "no whistle". How can I address this? Is it a DIY job? I have "oil tank" coverage on my plan with the oil company. Is the whistle covered by that?

Thanks

dwheelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 10:56 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,213
Default

oil tank whistle


Phone the oil company and see if it is covered. NOT a DIY job. Piping from top of tank needs to be altered to add one or opened to replace the existing one. Dangerous to not have one as the tank can get overfilled and then you have a EPA problem with contaminated soil etc. BAD news then.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 10:59 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,730
Default

oil tank whistle


Call your company and ask them. We don't know what you contract covers. We haven't seen the contract.

Unless the driver could see the tank while filling it. He should not have filled it without the whistle working.
Most drivers won't.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 09:18 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 135
Default

oil tank whistle


Is there a whistle installed but not working?
Artco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 08:58 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 12
Default

oil tank whistle


Quote:
Originally Posted by Artco View Post
Is there a whistle installed but not working?
yes, i assume so...........i think the oil guy meant he could not hear one. I think all tanks have one. the house is ~30yo so I think the whistle just stopped working?
dwheelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 09:02 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,730
Default

oil tank whistle


Probably a spider web in the vent cap's screen.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low hot water pressure crebive Plumbing 38 02-26-2013 12:26 AM
Oil tank whistle valve install toxic oreo HVAC 10 12-27-2009 08:42 PM
Toilet jpark Plumbing 18 01-05-2009 07:12 AM
Nightmare water tank job Marvin Gardens Plumbing 6 11-04-2008 11:09 AM
Upstairs toilet pipe noise bliss Plumbing 8 01-10-2008 07:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.