Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-01-2013, 09:15 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Oil Furnace Won't Start - Nothing Happening


Switch is on - got 120 v at j-box, thermostat OK, changed filter at tank outlet, changed filter at pump inlet, changed nozzle, pressing reset on primary control does nothing. Jumped L1 to pump motor. Works fine - able to bleed line.
Supply house (and I) thought it has to be primary control.
Changed Honeywell Primary control - still nothing. This control gives a shaking green, indicator light for approx 2 - 3 sec, then the light goes out, then a single blink every four sec. I'm assuming this is ERR 1: slow/failed ignition.
Removed & visually inspected gun assy when changing nozzle - looks OK. Counter person at supply house thought so too.

khaas1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 10:38 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 273
Default

Oil Furnace Won't Start - Nothing Happening


You said thermostat was ok....... would you mind elaborating on that a bit more?

Your description leads me to believe that the thermostat is not telling the burner to run. At least that is the first thing that came to mind.

old_squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 03:18 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Oil Furnace Won't Start - Nothing Happening


I jumped it at the furnace.
khaas1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 05:12 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Oil Furnace Won't Start - Nothing Happening


Disconnect cad cell wire and see if it runs then.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 11:58 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Oil Furnace Won't Start - Nothing Happening


On the Primary Control there are two cad wires. Unplugged both - nothing.
khaas1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 04:11 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Oil Furnace Won't Start - Nothing Happening


Does your primary have a separate terminal for the high limit. if so, your high limit may be open.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:48 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Oil Furnace Won't Start - Nothing Happening


There is a spot labelled "limit" (red) but no male plug like the others. Is there a way to check or reset?
khaas1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:57 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Oil Furnace Won't Start - Nothing Happening


Post full model number of the primary.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 09:26 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Oil Furnace Won't Start - Nothing Happening


Current primary: Honeywell R7284
Replaced old primary (R7184B) with this model.
khaas1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 09:58 AM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Oil Furnace Won't Start - Nothing Happening


I haven't used that one yet. that has the diagnostic display right.

Did you try jumping the TT terminals and see if it runs then.

You do have line going to the L1 terminal, right. And have a good connection on your neutral.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 12:32 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Oil Furnace Won't Start - Nothing Happening


This one doesn't have a display, only the green indicator light.
Using my Klein (pen) voltage tester, there is power at L1 female plug and the two TT leads.
Previously jumped L1 to pump motor - worked. Able to prime line.
Tried jumping the two TT leads going to primary - nothing.
Admittedly not great with electric, I believe the neutrals should be the white wires - checked the two nuts/connections. They look good.

To reiterate, when I flip the switch the green indicator shakes/flickers (like it's trying). Then it goes out and after three or four secs gives a single blink every three or four secs.
khaas1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:41 AM   #12
Devil Dog
 
handyman_20772's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Posts: 53
Default

Oil Furnace Won't Start - Nothing Happening


Sounds like your control has locked you out, hold down the reset button for about 30 sec. until you see it flash then release. The motor should come on for 10 seconds and then the burner will come on after the cad cell sees the flame. If this doesn't happen I would check the ignitor next, changing this out is pretty easy and while your at it I'd get a new cad cell.

Last edited by handyman_20772; 03-04-2013 at 08:56 AM.
handyman_20772 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 03:53 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Oil Furnace Won't Start - Nothing Happening


Quote:
Originally Posted by handyman_20772 View Post
Sounds like your control has locked you out, hold down the reset button for about 30 sec. until you see it flash then release. The motor should come on for 10 seconds and then the burner will come on after the cad cell sees the flame. If this doesn't happen I would check the ignitor next, changing this out is pretty easy and while your at it I'd get a new cad cell.
On lock out. Isn't it suppose to have a red LED that stays on.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 05:24 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Oil Furnace Won't Start - Nothing Happening


Yeah, the error for a lockout is 1/2 sec on, 1/2 sec off. Hold reset for 45 sec - I tried this previously.
To me, signs point to the ignitor. I'm assuming the ignitor is the two springs that contact the gun assembly (where nozzle is connected to)? The part that hinges?
I've seen them test the ignitor on You Tube, but it looked like they had it out and connected to a separate power source!? How could I test mine?

Really appreciate the input!
Being so stingy to call an HVAC contractor because I have a barrel stove that (easily) heats my 1200' ranch.
khaas1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 05:37 PM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Oil Furnace Won't Start - Nothing Happening


If it would be the ignitor. The motor would still run until the safety timed out.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A couple furnace gas pipe questions, and an entire plan to replace my gas valve richapple HVAC 13 12-05-2012 11:33 AM
Gas Furnace Won't Stay Running / Thermostat Set High To Start _scott HVAC 6 03-23-2011 07:27 PM
Furnace won't fire, exhaust fan hot and won't start tex800 HVAC 14 10-08-2010 06:48 PM
Oil Furnace Won't start ScottEW HVAC 0 10-05-2010 08:26 AM
clare furnace needs reset to start dustin020 HVAC 2 10-15-2009 06:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.