Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-05-2012, 06:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

oil furnace will not light


My oil furnace will come on then shut off 30 sec later. so I changed the oil filter and it was dirty be still same thing I have to press the reset button then it shuts down . so what do you guys think could be the problem ?

Jerrystrauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 07:15 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,401
Default

oil furnace will not light


When is the last time it had a good clean and tune. probably has a bad nozzle. Or it could be the ignition transformer, or even the oil pump, plus a few other things.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 08:32 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Default

oil furnace will not light


I know the pump is working and I don't know when or if it was cleaned I bought the house in June and this is the first time I have turn the heat on since the home inspection. I had a new condenser unit put in over the summer but not the inside unit so that shouldn't have changed any thing. how can I test the unit to see what might be wrong?
Jerrystrauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 08:35 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,401
Default

oil furnace will not light


Remove jet line from draw assembly, and point it into a container, then run burner and see if oil comes out.

If so, pump is working. If not, either pump is not working, or air is in line, or you are out of oil, or pump coupling is bad.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 08:38 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,244
Default

oil furnace will not light


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerrystrauss View Post
I know the pump is working and I don't know when or if it was cleaned I bought the house in June and this is the first time I have turn the heat on since the home inspection. I had a new condenser unit put in over the summer but not the inside unit so that shouldn't have changed any thing. how can I test the unit to see what might be wrong?
just a follow up to beenthere...have it serviced by good company to get it ready for the season and mention these things to the tech then you know its safe and done right.. no disrespect to you but oil can be trickey to work on....ben
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 09:38 PM   #6
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Default

oil furnace will not light


Ok a short list of possibles.
A dirty nozzle.
Cracked poecilin/s or worn out electrodes.
Water in fuel
Weak transformer.
bad relay .
dirty flame sensor.
weak pump.
loose flare connection.
bad air setting
plus probably 6 other things.
With a professional clean and check will cost 2-3 hundred dollars and if set up with instraments (an absolute must)
If this is done by a good tech then you will possibly save around $400.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to REP For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (01-05-2012)
Old 01-05-2012, 11:00 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 13
Default

oil furnace will not light


im a gas tech but been around the dirty oil, 99% its the cad cell , its like a flame sensor for a gas furnace, if the sequence of operation is ok untill the burner lights, then its the cad cell not telling the main valve that there is a flame and to shut down, you can try to clean it, but good chance its going to need a replace, cheers Legacy
Legacyairsystem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 06:02 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,217
Default

oil furnace will not light


When you change the filter you must fill the filter housing with clean oil and remove the line off the pump (as been said) and direct it into a container until all the air is out of the line the hook it back up and restart it. Don't be pushing that RED button more than once or twice or you could have a major problem.

COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace pilot light will not ignite - Carrier 58 GS Furnace? rasilun HVAC 3 10-29-2011 09:38 PM
Furnace will light - if I hit it! Chuch HVAC 1 10-28-2011 02:05 PM
Bryant furnace won't light, not HSI amylynn6 HVAC 8 11-01-2010 10:07 AM
Weathermaker 8000 gas furnace will not light karyn HVAC 1 01-24-2010 11:17 AM
Carrier Furnace Series 160 Pilot Light issue eastons HVAC 2 03-15-2009 02:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.