Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-09-2007, 09:51 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Exclamation

Oil Furnace Questions

I'm a new homeowner, and also a father of a newborn as of this past Monday. My home has an oil-fired furnace/boiler centrally located in the house. I believe it to be the same age as the house, 36 years old. Oct 9th I had a service and tune done by a technician. About a week or so ago, the thing started to "delay-fire" upon start-up. It's basically a "stutter"-type of sound. [What I believe to be the Beckett burner] kicks on first, then the ignition fires, with hesitation, anywhere from 1-5 seconds afterward. What could be this problem? I'm pretty new to HVAC, but I am mechanically-inclined. Any help is appreciated, thanks

RJ

mudpaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2007, 11:36 AM   #2
Custom Cabinet Maker

Oil Furnace Questions

Mudpaws: First I need to know just what this "tech?" did.
3 things come to mind right off;
1. partially plugged nozzle
2. Inline filter needs to be replaced
3. Inlet screen on burner pump clogged.

All 3 are not difficult, however the inlet screen is the one that will take longest to replace, about 1/2 hr.
Nozzle is about 5 mins, normally just 2, 3/4" wrenches
inline filter, messy but 5/8" wrench, take top off pull old element out put in new, REMEMBER TO CHANGE ALL GASKETS, tighten back up and let er rip.

remember to turn furnace OFF and the oil valves OFF.

skymaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2007, 11:36 PM   #3

Oil Furnace Questions

The tech, referred by a family member, performed a maintenance & tune...unfortunately I wasn't present to pick his brain a li'l, although I don't like to stand over people when they do their job.

Shouldn't those 3 things have been done already in the job he did?