Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-15-2012, 04:24 PM   #1

Share |
Smile

Oil Furnace Problem and its Sunday!!

Hi, I am not an HVAC Pro, I'm a handyman, I know, jack of all trades, ...
Anyway, I am working on a house with an oil furnace. I first replaced the nozzle, exact type, and the oil filter. New nozzle clogged up within a week. I then pulled the nozzle and cleaned it, cleaned the pump strainer and cleaned the air band on the Beckett oil burner, it was just barley open and dirty. Now it is working but smelling in the house. Smoke puffing out the stack damper. I had moved the air band to clean the openings and moved it back towards original setting but very slightly open more. Flame viewed through the inspection door is very spread out, wide, I don,t think it should look like that, but no smoke in the combustion chamber. Could I have damaged the nozzle. What else would cause that. The only other thing I changed was the air band setting slightly open more than it was after I cleaned it. Furnace was not acting this way before. I guess I will wait until tomorrow to get a new nozzle, then contact my HVAC Guy. Just hopping for some feedback. Yes, I have turned the unit off, I'm a handyman, not a dummy! My Bacharach Electronic Gas Analyzer is reading 1 ppm inside house, negligible.

Last edited by Bluwolf; 01-15-2012 at 05:19 PM. Reason: adding info
Bluwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 04:27 PM   #2
Master General ReEngineer

Quote:
I am not an HVAC Pro,
Ayuh,... Me neither, but, My guess is, it's dirty...
If the H/E is sooted up, 'n the chimney is sooted up, it ain't gettin' the draft it needs...

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 04:32 PM   #3
Hvac Pro