Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2012, 10:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Oil Furnace Emergency shut off switch location?


Hi, I am redoing a stair to come up to code at my Gal's house. We are switching the stair direction, and there is a Furnace switch that I am questioning the location of.

History of the house: This house used to have a full basement with stairs down to the basement where the Furnace Emergency Shut off switch was located at the top. The house was moved to it's current location for road widening. The basement was replaced by a crawl space. The stairs to the basement became a closet (where the emergency switch still resides) and access to the crawl space is from a bulkhead outside the house.

So, the current situation is that the Emergency Furnace shut off switch is in a closet in the first floor. There is no switch in the crawlspace.

I have not found real good information on where the Furnace Emergency shut off switch should be located. The best I can guestimate from what I read so far is that a better location would be inside the entrance of the crawl space in sight of the furnace.

Additionally, access to the fuse box is near the first floor entrance, where a clearly marked furnace breaker is located.

The reason for this would be:

1) It can be used by service personal to shut off power when servicing.
2) The furnace could be shut off easily from the circuit panel from the first floor.
3) The current location (within 10 feet of the circuit panel) will be out of the closet due to the remodel(first thought was that I put it in a recessed box to prevent accidental switching on/off)

So.... The question is, where should a Oil Furnace emergency shut off switch be located for a furnace located in a crawl space with access to the space from outside? Does anyone know the code (or at least common sense?)

LarryNH914 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 04:06 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,553
Default

Oil Furnace Emergency shut off switch location?


At the entrance to the crawlspace.

Its suppose to be outside of the entrance, by code.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 05:15 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,723
Default

Oil Furnace Emergency shut off switch location?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
At the entrance to the crawlspace.

Its suppose to be outside of the entrance, by code.
What if you have two entrances?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 05:38 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,553
Default

Oil Furnace Emergency shut off switch location?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
What if you have two entrances?
Then the one most commonly used. if both are used equally, then the one closest to the furnace. If they are both equally close to the furnace, then which ever one you want.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 05:39 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,723
Default

Oil Furnace Emergency shut off switch location?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Then the one most commonly used. if both are used equally, then the one closest to the furnace. If they are both equally close to the furnace, then which ever one you want.
Is that code or opinion? I'd like to see the actual code on a remote switch location.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 05:44 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,553
Default

Oil Furnace Emergency shut off switch location?


Code only requires the switch. As to where when you have multiple doors/access, it doesn't care.

If you have an inside and outside access way to the basement or crawlspace, the code does not care which door/access way the switch is at. Most code inspectors(in this area) prefer it at the inside access way. But can't fail you for it being at the outside access way.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 05:45 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,723
Default

Oil Furnace Emergency shut off switch location?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Code only requires the switch. As to where when you have multiple doors/access, it doesn't care.

If you have an inside and outside access way to the basement or crawlspace, the code does not care which door/access way the switch is at. Most code inspectors(in this area) prefer it at the inside access way. But can't fail you for it being at the outside access way.
How about an actual code section? Im just curious what section this falls under.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 05:54 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,553
Default

Oil Furnace Emergency shut off switch location?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
How about an actual code section? Im just curious what section this falls under.
Not at my normal desk. will look section up later.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 05:54 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,723
Default

Oil Furnace Emergency shut off switch location?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Not at my normal desk. will look section up later.
Great, thanks...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 08:29 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,553
Default

Oil Furnace Emergency shut off switch location?


NFPA 31:
10.5.1*
Oil burners, other than oil stoves with integral tanks, shall be provided with some means for manually stopping the flow of oil to the burner. Such device or devices shall be placed in a readily accessible location at a safe distance from the burner.
10.5.1.1 For electrically powered appliances, the requirement of 10.5.1 shall be accomplished by an identified switch in the burner supply circuit, placed near the entrance to the room where the appliance is located.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
LarryNH914 (06-28-2012), stickboy1375 (06-27-2012)
Old 06-27-2012, 08:33 PM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,723
Default

Oil Furnace Emergency shut off switch location?


Any clue to where electric fire o matics come into play?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 08:44 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,553
Default

Oil Furnace Emergency shut off switch location?


Mounted over the boiler near or on the ceiling, the handle melts at 160 or so, and shuts off the electric.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 08:50 PM   #13
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,723
Default

Oil Furnace Emergency shut off switch location?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Mounted over the boiler near or on the ceiling, the handle melts at 160 or so, and shuts off the electric.
I was curious of a code section on actual requirement.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 09:00 PM   #14
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,615
Default

Oil Furnace Emergency shut off switch location?


the emergency switch is only that....the furnace should have a unit mounted service switch.i would relocate it up into the house hall closet near the kitchen high up on the wall..with its red plate
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2012, 03:45 AM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,553
Default

Oil Furnace Emergency shut off switch location?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
I was curious of a code section on actual requirement.
Not in my IMC, or NFGC books. May be in the newest codes. But its not required in my area.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gas Furnace Troubleshooting: Pressure Switch stuck on royxu HVAC 3 12-27-2011 11:31 AM
Thoughts on furnace switch location ahowenstine HVAC 8 09-08-2010 07:05 PM
blower won't shut off on new gas furnace johnny67 HVAC 36 09-14-2009 09:23 PM
Furnace Pressure Switch bigmatt HVAC 10 09-03-2009 06:25 PM
Furnace Emergency Switch Placment arichard21 Electrical 2 01-21-2008 11:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.