Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-18-2014, 08:06 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 129
Rewards Points: 83
Default

oil boiler


Pipe freeze and burst on the second floor. Fixed it and burst again now in boiler room. I turned the system off and shut off water to the unit. Afraid it might burst in the ground. What you suggest? I would like to get it up and running...no heat in the house. Baseboard throughout the house, no basement.

Tek1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 08:47 AM   #2
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,683
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

oil boiler


Ayuh,.... If you've got multiple pipe Bursts from freezin', ya gotta drain the system, repair All the busted pipes, refill the system, check for more leaks, 'n then when All the pipes are fixed, 'n it's been refilled to 12psi,....
Fire it up,...

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 09:57 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 129
Rewards Points: 83
Default

oil boiler


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bondo View Post
Ayuh,.... If you've got multiple pipe Bursts from freezin', ya gotta drain the system, repair All the busted pipes, refill the system, check for more leaks, 'n then when All the pipes are fixed, 'n it's been refilled to 12psi,....
Fire it up,...
Would not drain completely, I am thinking ice blocking it somewhere.
Tek1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 10:01 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 129
Rewards Points: 83
Default

oil boiler


I drained the system the first time and pipe burst in the boiler room couple minutes after I fired up.
Tek1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 11:00 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 150
Default

oil boiler


was the heat shut off completely? Is that why it got cold enough in the boiler room to freeze the pipe there? If thats the case drain system down cap off feed and return and verify boiler hasn't cracked by putting water pressure back into boiler. make sure you look inside at area around combustion chamber.
hpyjack2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 11:13 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 129
Rewards Points: 83
Default

oil boiler


Quote:
Originally Posted by hpyjack2013 View Post
was the heat shut off completely? Is that why it got cold enough in the boiler room to freeze the pipe there? If thats the case drain system down cap off feed and return and verify boiler hasn't cracked by putting water pressure back into boiler. make sure you look inside at area around combustion chamber.
Yes...She ran out of oil.
Tek1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 11:20 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 194
Rewards Points: 150
Default

oil boiler


start with the boiler make sure it can take 30lbs then fire it up and check again
hpyjack2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2014, 05:28 PM   #8
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,621
Rewards Points: 2,380
Default

oil boiler


You are going to need to get some electric construction heaters in the basement and house and warm it up to at least 50 deg F. then check the boiler for leaks before going further into repairs.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suspect Electric boiler causing brownout crankcase Electrical 4 11-06-2012 01:41 AM
New Boiler for an Office - Got Two Quotes, but What Do We Need? Prolow Plumbing 0 09-17-2012 06:10 AM
Setting the reset "Curve" for a modulating boiler (modcon) mknmike HVAC 5 02-10-2011 11:37 AM
Need help fast please re hydronic boiler water supply and backflow DanDaMan HVAC 6 12-11-2010 02:26 PM
I Need a New Boiler. What do i need to know New Boiler Co Plumbing 0 10-23-2010 06:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.