Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-26-2012, 02:34 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 302
Share |
Default

Obsolete- Need furnace fan control


Hello

Im looking for a replacement combination fan control and high limit for a gas furnace. The old ones plastic started to crack and will no longer shut off the blower. All elese is ok and works correct.

After trying to look for a new one I was not able to find a new one with the same part number as the old one. I was told there is a substitute to it, but I have no clue which is the correct limit as there seem to be hundreds of diferent kinds avalable.

The old limit has a model number of: L4064A2782-6-8630, has an insertion rod of 11 inches and says "Honeywell" on the cover.

Please let me know if more info is needed. Thanks

Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 03:15 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,506
Default

Obsolete- Need furnace fan control


How many wires in yours. is the limit circuit line or low voltage. Can't find your model listed. But should be able to determine which you need without too much trouble.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 04:04 PM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,615
Default

Obsolete- Need furnace fan control


check out this site local Grainger has those Honeywells with the silver covers and that black disc that you set the temp.pins at http://bestbuyheatingandaircondition.../fan&limit.htm
biggles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 04:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 302
Default

Obsolete- Need furnace fan control


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
How many wires in yours. is the limit circuit line or low voltage. Can't find your model listed. But should be able to determine which you need without too much trouble.
There are 3 wires leaving the control. The limit is line voltage and heads down to the control step down transformer. The heating delay connects to the blower. The set up is nearly identical to the circuit in the diagram on figure C except the jumper is not removed like in B.
Attached Thumbnails
Obsolete- Need furnace fan control-limit-c.jpg  
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 04:47 PM   #5
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,489
Default

Obsolete- Need furnace fan control


Post a picture of the old fan/ limit control!
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 05:04 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,506
Default

Obsolete- Need furnace fan control


L4064b1451.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 05:16 PM   #7
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,489
Default

Obsolete- Need furnace fan control


1/2 of our furnaces still use this control but I live in an area that is weather gentle on furnaces. The L4064b1451 is a common stock part in our supply houses.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 06:04 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 302
Default

Obsolete- Need furnace fan control


I will try and get a pic tommorrow if I can, the limit is still inside the furnace. I have a Grainger account and plan on getting it from there. I looked at L4064b1451, and it's avalable

A guy at the supply house recommended this though:
http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/HON...820?Pid=search

What are your thoughts? What is the difference between the two?
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 07:05 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,506
Default

Obsolete- Need furnace fan control


That one will work too.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 07:32 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 302
Default

Obsolete- Need furnace fan control


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
That one will work too.
Whats the difference though? Im just worried about the mounting holes being off. Is there any way I can compare the holes on the replacement limit before purchasing it?
Jump-start is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 07:47 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,506
Default

Obsolete- Need furnace fan control


The 2210 is an older version of the 1451, thats all.

Mount holes are the same.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 08:47 PM   #12
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,489
Default

Obsolete- Need furnace fan control


If all the holes don't line up (sometimes one or two won't), just drill a small pilot hole where you need it and use a sheet metal screw.
Remember to write down which wires go to the power/fan & limit slots of your old part so no mistakes happen with the re wiring.

how is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Furnace control board schematic rusty1 HVAC 2 07-17-2011 03:40 PM
Furnace Model # Feh-015-04 clicking but not turning on? haimei HVAC 1 12-14-2010 05:01 PM
Universal furnace control board Davidj0717 HVAC 1 10-14-2009 05:37 PM
heil gas furnace fan control shooter49 HVAC 1 10-24-2008 01:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.