Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-03-2010, 06:22 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Derby, KS
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Nuisance breaker tripping


On 2 occasions this winter, the 30 AMP breaker for my near new (aug. 09) heat pump has tripped. The unit is a Goodman 4 ton SSZ dual fuel (propane).

Today when it tripped the outside temps were in the mid to upper 30's. I have a clamp on amp meter so I put it on each leg while the unit was running, 15.x amps each on both legs. Shut the unit off, turned it back on and waited for the wait cycle to finish and watched the amps on start up, it happens very fast but it appeared to hit 69 or so for a split second (this is normal, I think for motors), then fell back to 13.x then as the unit ran, slowly climbed to 22.7 where it seemed to top out, then after a while it would go down slowly to 15 or, then back to 18.

I put new 8 gauge copper wire in from the panel to the box outside while the HVAC guys were working on installing the heat pump, so there is room to go to a bit larger breaker maybe but that probably isnt' the thing to do.

Not sure what to think....the unit works great and the only other thing thats a bit out of the ordinary is that it does "moose call" on occasion when the reversing valve switches). Probably does that once every couple weeks. The weather here for the last several months has condusive for ice making, very high humidity.

Hoping that beenthere and you other guys in the know can maybe point me in the right direction, it's so sporadic that I'm not sure calling the hvac guys back would be helpful.


Last edited by Dave Carney; 02-03-2010 at 08:18 PM.
Dave Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 07:09 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Nuisance breaker tripping


The "moose" call is it going into defrost mode, perfectly normal.

What is the manufacture recommendation for the breaker for the outdoor unit?

What is the model number of it?

__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 07:25 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Nuisance breaker tripping


Check the breaker size on the name plate. Also check the capacitor.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 07:32 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Derby, KS
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Nuisance breaker tripping


From the install manual...

Minimum circuity ampacity 25.9
Maximum overcurrent protection device 40 amp

Model SSZ160481

RLA 19.8
LRA 109.0

Condensor fan motor 1/6 hp

Last edited by Dave Carney; 02-03-2010 at 07:35 PM.
Dave Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 07:55 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Nuisance breaker tripping


min ampacity is for wire size. Over currant protection is the fuse, can be a 40 amp.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 11:14 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

Nuisance breaker tripping


You have 8 guage wire. I would install a 40 amp breaker.

When the unit goes into and comes out of a defrost cycle. The amp draw can jump fairly high until the unit stabilizes again(for the length of your moose call and about a minute or 2 after that).

Your system charge is probably not as close to correct as it should be(cause of the moose call, not the breaker tripping). I think the reversing vale in that unit is big enough for a 9 ton unit. So if the charge is a little low. It doesn't switch as well as it should.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 07:59 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Derby, KS
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Nuisance breaker tripping


Thanks man. Before I read your post I ordered a new 35 amp breaker. Maybe should have went 40 I guess but if it still trips the 35, I'll wait until it warms up in late spring and have them check the pressures. The reason I went 35 was that there is a 3 foot run of 10 gauge wire from the generac (whole house generator) transfer panel to the 8 gauge that I ran. (They come together in the original electrical panel) I'm well within limits still at 35 i believe, since that is a very short lead.

My other option I guess is to eliminate the lead altogether and move the 8 guage to the transfer panel direct to the breaker but it's not really set up very well for that and I'm trying not to make it too confusing for whoever owns it after me some day.

Last edited by Dave Carney; 02-04-2010 at 08:04 AM.
Dave Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 12:41 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

Nuisance breaker tripping


What kind of connection is there from the 10 to the 8 guage.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 12:59 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Derby, KS
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Nuisance breaker tripping


It's the large twist on plastic connector used by the electrician that originally put in the generator. I re-used it, it's not a crimp on or anything. Is there something better to use?
Dave Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 01:21 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

Nuisance breaker tripping


Post pic of connection.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 08:42 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Derby, KS
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Nuisance breaker tripping


Sorry for the delay...was busy getting laid off at work... :=(

The big blue wire nuts are the connections...
Attached Thumbnails
Nuisance breaker tripping-heatpumpwireconnection.jpg  
Dave Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2010, 08:55 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

Nuisance breaker tripping


Not the best for the start load the compressor will have.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 01:59 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Derby, KS
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Nuisance breaker tripping


This morning I rerouted the 8 gauge direct to the breaker in the generac transfer panel. Left it on the 30 amp breaker (for now pending results)

Dave Carney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pool Main breaker keeps tripping beckyreyes Electrical 12 08-11-2013 04:06 PM
Dead Breaker? and Nusiance Tripping... jasonblu Electrical 9 11-06-2009 06:13 PM
New GFCI Breaker Tripping w/ 3-way Flourescents BigJimmy Electrical 8 12-29-2008 02:29 PM
Tripping Wrong Breaker woodworksnmore@comcast.ne Electrical 15 03-28-2008 01:47 PM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.