Nozzle - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2013, 07:17 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

nozzle


Can you replace a .85 70A nozzle with a .85 80A?

Advertisement

ThenorNCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 08:33 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 28,099
Rewards Points: 7,772
Default

nozzle


Quote:
Originally Posted by ThenorNCo View Post
Can you replace a .85 70A nozzle with a .85 80A?
Doing so, can cause damage to the combustion chamber.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 09:18 AM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 11,313
Rewards Points: 764
Default

nozzle


No. It is a 10 degree wider angle of spray and will hit the chamber and damage it.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 10:38 AM   #4
Member
 
FClef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 160
Default

nozzle


While everyone says no, I will tell you that it depends on the overall firing rate of the boiler, the recommended nozzle size and the overall size of the combustion chamber. The nozzle could work as long as there is no flame impingement on the chamber, but you need to be able to see that. My suggestion is to change it out with what was in there to begin with.
__________________

"Human beings can always be relied upon to assert, with vigor, their God-given right to be stupid"
Dean Koontz - Seize The Night
FClef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 10:42 AM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 11,313
Rewards Points: 764
Default

nozzle


actually it may not work as the electrodes would have to re repositioned or it may not fire properly or have delayed ignition.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 05:04 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 5,329
Rewards Points: 1,256
Default

nozzle


thats what scares me ..it could have delayed ignition .. over the yrs it was always best and still is to replace nozzles at the exact size....ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 06:58 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 256
Rewards Points: 230
Default

nozzle


Why would you want to?
hvac instructor is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvac instructor For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (10-25-2013)
Old 11-11-2013, 08:52 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

nozzle


Quote:
Originally Posted by FClef View Post
While everyone says no, I will tell you that it depends on the overall firing rate of the boiler, the recommended nozzle size and the overall size of the combustion chamber. The nozzle could work as long as there is no flame impingement on the chamber, but you need to be able to see that. My suggestion is to change it out with what was in there to begin with.
Its a big chamber and i dont think 10 degree wider will hurt.
ThenorNCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 09:30 PM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 11,313
Rewards Points: 764
Default

nozzle


use whatever the furnace manufacturer recommends or you may be sorry and damage the chamber and it can void the chamber/heat exchanger warranty. they can tell by color discoloration what was in there. you will have to reset the electrodes to get it to light properly.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 04:38 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

nozzle


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
use whatever the furnace manufacturer recommends or you may be sorry and damage the chamber and it can void the chamber/heat exchanger warranty. they can tell by color discoloration what was in there. you will have to reset the electrodes to get it to light properly.
Thanks...i am replacing it.

Advertisement

ThenorNCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
down sizing an oil burner nozzle bernie963 HVAC 11 01-09-2013 05:49 PM
Powerwasher losing water near the nozzle Girly_girl Plumbing 1 09-22-2011 08:37 AM
Duo-Therm 86505 Nozzle Confusion? sjb49938 HVAC 0 10-05-2010 05:06 AM
changing a nozzle on a beckett afg johnnyd60 HVAC 5 09-22-2010 04:41 PM
carbon build up on nozzle zuni97 HVAC 8 01-20-2009 08:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts