Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-22-2011, 08:20 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Share |
Default

Not Enough Wires?


What are you going to do with this data?

Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 08:32 PM   #17
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,030
Default

Not Enough Wires?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Master of Cold View Post
What are you going to do with this data?
I am using it to compare to my billing from our utility company, and also it is used as a resource for others to compare to others through the website that gathers all of this. I also used it to help tweak the swing & differential on the thermostat, so I am able to be more proactive in heating and cooling the house. Since our utility for gas & the city owned utility for electricity/water/sewage does not use any device to allow you to monitor your daily KWh, and no, I am not going to go out there to read the meter everyday, which would not be an accurate way of reading, due to that would include the whole house. it makes it easier to use to compare billings from one year to the next.

Last edited by gregzoll; 08-22-2011 at 09:15 PM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 09:15 PM   #18
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,044
Default

Not Enough Wires?


Thanks Greg, I'll check that out. I have a computer running 24/7 that would be ideal for this.


[quote=gregzoll;713156]raylo32, grab thermostat monitor at thermostatmonitor.com, and thermostat for windows at setyourthermostat.com. If you want to just pull up, you can pull the stats by IP/tstat/datalog through JSON. I used the Firefox addon to pull this:

raylo32 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D 3 number 12 wires equal one number 8 wire? Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-26-2011 08:00 PM
if there are red white green and black wires coming out of your walls like everywhere cray331 Electrical 3 01-17-2011 12:56 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
Removing wall with wires in it jboswald Electrical 11 11-29-2009 02:55 PM
Three hot wires coming into a receptacle? Jeff DIY Electrical 10 10-07-2009 01:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.