Nordyne G6TL Furnace Question - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2009, 07:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Nordyne G6TL Furnace Question


Hello,

I recently replaced the inducer blower assembly in a Nordyne G6TL 90+ variable speed furnace.

The new assembly has a condensate drain where the original had none. It appears that a small amount of condensate can end up in the blower housing and they decided it needs somewhere to go.

Can I tap this into my existing condensate drain using the same clear vinyl hose and a tee or does it require something more complicated?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Advertisement

kentcasey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 08:43 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,031
Rewards Points: 700
Default

Nordyne G6TL Furnace Question


Make a circular 360 degree trap loop out of small vinyl hose and then tee it into the main drain line. Needs a trap to keep fumes from escaping and to maintain draft thru the ventor.

Advertisement

yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 09:05 PM   #3
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Nordyne G6TL Furnace Question


Be sure the highest part of the loop is lower than the induser drain port.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 10:03 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Nordyne G6TL Furnace Question


Hello,

I recently replaced the inducer blower assembly in a Nordyne G6TL 90+ variable speed furnace.

The new assembly has a condensate drain where the original had none. It appears that a small amount of condensate can end up in the blower housing and they decided it needs somewhere to go.

Can I tap this into my existing condensate drain using the same clear vinyl hose and a tee or does it require something more complicated?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks![/quote]

Last edited by kentcasey; 01-28-2009 at 10:54 PM.
kentcasey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 11:14 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Nordyne G6TL Furnace Question


You got the wrong inducer for your G6. The one you have is for the new G7 models.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM
Furnace Maintenance Question lmeagher HVAC 1 10-15-2008 04:53 PM
Question Re: New Furnace and Duct Sizing DSimo HVAC 3 06-17-2008 08:24 AM
One furnace question and one thermostat question lh0628 HVAC 4 10-11-2007 11:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.
<--
-->