Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-30-2011, 06:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
alcherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Nordyne electric furnace


I have a Nordyne E2EB015HA electric furnace in my east Texas mansion (doublewide). We had a cold snap and when we turned the unit on, it would only come on when it was in the "ON" position, not the "auto" position and has no heat. We changed the thermostat, and it works on both positions, but still no heat. The thermostat seems to work, as it will kick on at one temp, and shut off at another. We insured it was wired properly, at the thermostat and at the unit but still has no heat. It worked last winter.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
signed:
Chilly in the piney woods

alcherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 07:45 PM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,317
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Nordyne electric furnace


there is a good chance there is a problem with the relay or the strip heaters. WARNING!!! HIGH VOLTAGE contained within the furnace. IF unfamiliar with electricity I recommend calling a PRO.

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 07:40 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 326
Default

Nordyne electric furnace


Good chance it will be the first sequencer that the thermostat energizes, which turns on the heating element and the fan motor in heating mode. If you check the voltage going to the coil of the sequencer you should find 24 volts, this will power a heating element in the base of the sequencer which will heat up a bi-metal and then close the switching contacts that allows power to go through and energize the first heating element and the fan motor. As previously posted- all components in this cabinet are powered all the time. If you are not completely knowlegeable about how to safely work around live electrical equipment call an HVAC guy in to help you.
Attached Thumbnails
Nordyne electric furnace-img00016-20100724-1143.jpg  
HVACDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 07:24 PM   #4
Newbie
 
alcherry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Nordyne electric furnace


After turning off the breakers, I opened it up, looked around, jiggled a few wires, and turned the breakers back on. The heating elements light up, but when I shut the unit off, the elements cycle on and off, with no fan. This is out of my league. HVAC dude scheduled.
alcherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Natural Gas Cost For Furnace 1 Hour Run Time hammerlane HVAC 15 11-11-2013 10:34 AM
nordyne electric furnace greg4004 HVAC 1 01-22-2011 05:10 AM
Ruud Electric Heating Furnace jacksadvantage HVAC 3 01-15-2010 04:56 PM
electric furnace questions blh1960 HVAC 13 08-27-2009 06:05 PM
electric furnace need help Unregistered HVAC 3 10-16-2007 02:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.