Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-14-2009, 09:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Land of Oz
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Nordyne condenser goodman A-coil


I have a Nordyne ds3ba-048ka outdoor unit I purchased three years ago I installed it on an existing older Heil 4 ton a-coil emergency install in the middle of july 100 + degree weather. It works great. I am now going to replace at least the furnace It is a goodman rated to handle up to a 4.5 ton a coil. I have a 4 ton Goodman A coil it uses something called a flowrater that is used by changing sizes if you are mismatching out door units to acoil They also talk about compressor piston size. I need to know if i can put the Goodman a-coil on the Nordyne outdoor unit. They are both 4 ton units I don't know if there is a piston size on the Nordyne. The Nordyne is a R-22 system. the Goodman a-coil will work with r-22 or r-410.

wtroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 05:11 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Northeast Pa.
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Nordyne condenser goodman A-coil


What I would reccommend is that you get the appropriate TXV ( Thermal Expansion Valve) from Goodman to install onto the new A-coil. This valve meters on temp. and oporating conditions and would solve the problem of unmatched equipment. If you install it as is, it WILL oporate. However you may get a decreased efficiency and may not get the full 48,000 BTU from the outdoor. The TXV is easy to install, it just attaches to the A-coil threaded end. (DO NOT FORGET TO REMOVE THE PISTON FROM THE A-COIL BEFORE YOU PUT ON THE TXV)

sdsheatcool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 07:15 AM   #3
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Nordyne condenser goodman A-coil


I am a Nordyne dealer. Thatis a ten SEER unit. It You have the Flow ratot-Piston size are the same names for the device that regulates refrigeratnt flow.

If you are going to use the Goodman coil check the coil label. it may be matched to you out side unit.

This is, assuming, you still have the flow rator/piston from the Nordyne unit. It would have been in a plastic bag with your paperwork or in the control section of the unit.

I would not go with a TXV as they are expensive and are not for giving if mis installed.

TXV valves are good when trying to apply a ten SEER coil to thirteen SEER condenser. They wont correct a mismatch but just makes the unit work as best it can and the circumstances. You get the most SEER the coil can put out and protect the comp from damage.

You don't have a mismatch, just a piston to change.


I have looked up the size and you need a number 80 size piston /Flowrator to the new 4ton coil to the out side unit.

The size is an 80.


Hope this helps

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 10:10 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Land of Oz
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Nordyne condenser goodman A-coil


Thanks for the Info I aasume then all I need to do is insure that I have an 80 flowrater in the goodman A-coil. The coil number is capf4860c6 which is a 4 ton coil. I have not opened up the fitting to see what size flowrator was sent with it. I was hoping since both condenser and coil are 48,000 btu then it would be a match

Last edited by wtroger; 09-15-2009 at 10:53 AM.
wtroger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 04:50 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

Nordyne condenser goodman A-coil


Thats not a 48,000BTU coil.

Its a 4 to 5 ton coil. And you may not like how it works with that condenser.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 05:34 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Northeast Pa.
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Lightbulb

Nordyne condenser goodman A-coil


The TXV from Goodman is under $100 and is almost impossible to install wrong. ( just follow the directions in the box). This will be your best bet for good oporation of the outdoor unit. Make sure it is a 4 ton TXV.
I will add some info in case you do not know. If you install this new coil on the R-22 outdoor unit. When it comes time to change the outdoor unit you will also have to replace the indoor coil again. REASON: As of Jan.,1 2010 there will be no more R-22 refrigarant equipment manufactured. The new refrigerant R410A is NOT compatible with the R-22 and any oil left from the R-22 will contaminate the 410A and damage the compressor. At this time the U.S.Gov. has a federal tax credit of up to 30%(max. $1500) for a system upgrade. Which may make this a perfect time put in a 410A sytem and recover some of the cost. More details available at energystar.gov
sdsheatcool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 06:32 PM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Nordyne condenser goodman A-coil


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Thats not a 48,000BTU coil.

Its a 4 to 5 ton coil. And you may not like how it works with that condenser.
I disagree with you there.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 06:40 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

Nordyne condenser goodman A-coil


Disagree all you want.

But till you give reasons. Your arguing with yourself.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 08:18 PM   #9
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Nordyne condenser goodman A-coil


HHHmmmmmm Don't know what the reason for that jab was but I it wasn't necessary.

You would normally come back with the reasons to back your reasoning not a sarcastic shot..


Do we have a problem I don't know about?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 09:39 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Nordyne condenser goodman A-coil


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
HHHmmmmmm Don't know what the reason for that jab was but I it wasn't necessary.

You would normally come back with the reasons to back your reasoning not a sarcastic shot..


Do we have a problem I don't know about?
Again? Really?
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 03:52 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,541
Rewards Points: 2,762
Default

Nordyne condenser goodman A-coil


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
HHHmmmmmm Don't know what the reason for that jab was but I it wasn't necessary.

You would normally come back with the reasons to back your reasoning not a sarcastic shot..


Do we have a problem I don't know about?
Not that I know of.

I don't know if you disagree with that not being a 48,000 BTU coil.

Or that he may not like the way the Nordyne and Goodman coil perform together.

Until you say which one of those statements, or, now that I think about it, if its both statements that you don't agree with.

I Don't know which statement to give the reasoning on.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use an a/c evaporator A coil with a Heat Pump condenser? fiver HVAC 26 03-22-2009 06:24 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
Evaporator coil for Goodman A/C leschuler HVAC 2 09-25-2008 12:43 PM
Goodman 3.5 ton condenser fan stuck diyselfer HVAC 1 09-07-2008 10:58 AM
Replacing a Condenser Fan Motor (Goodman) guddug HVAC 8 07-03-2008 10:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.