Noisy Outside Unit When Blowing Hot Air - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-19-2015, 09:41 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 6

Noisy outside unit when blowing hot air

Hello- I am a novice to the HVAC community and forums in general, so please be patient with me LOL. My AC man has not been able to remedy my problem and I am in hopes of someone solving it here. When the unit comes on (or enters a cycle) it will either run as it is supposed to and blow cold air OR it will sound very metallic (as if it is coming apart) and blow hot or warm air inside. Replaced the compressor and had two people tell me that my "pressures were good". I have a Hejl 3 ton compressor (actually its replacement is a2 1/2 ton). It continued to have the same symptoms both before and after the compressor replacement. Any ideas?
Thank you-

Advertisement

Beausdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 09:57 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,852

Is it a heat pump? Why was the compressor replaced? Was it just due to the sound? Is there a time delay before startup? What's operating superheat and subcooling? Are they sure it's the compressor making the sound?

Advertisement

roughneck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 10:34 AM   #3