Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2010, 04:12 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

No power to units


My wife woke me up tonight because it was getting hot in our house. I went downstairs to see if I could figure anything out with my limited knowledge. It seems as though there is no power to furnace. I checked the breaker and tried flipping the power switch next to the unit and nothing. We had the furnace replaced about 8 years ago. It is a Goodman unit, not sure of the model number. We have had a few issues in the past, and I remember the tech showing me the indicator light inside the unit for diagnostics. It isn't on. Any deas on where I can begin?

shoyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 05:25 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 23
Default

No power to units


Control Tranformer may be fused or with a reset button on it. if not see if you have 24v coming out. Goodman also, if I recall has a car like two blade fuse in the control board.

lamon2524 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 06:26 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default

No power to units


I went and checked the voltage at the transformer. 122v in and 27v out, so that appears to be ok. I did pull the 3 amp fuse on the board and it appears to be burnt. I will get one while I am out this AM and see if that works. Thanks for the help in getting me started!
shoyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 06:31 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 23
Default

No power to units


Glad to help, love easy service calls.
lamon2524 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 08:28 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default

No power to units


It worked! Amazing how a simple 3 amp fuse can bring down the whole ship. Thanks for your help lamon! It is greatly appreciated!
shoyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 11:27 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 291
Default

No power to units


Quote:
Originally Posted by shoyer View Post
It worked! Amazing how a simple 3 amp fuse can bring down the whole ship. Thanks for your help lamon! It is greatly appreciated!
I don't want to "rain or your parade", but blown fuses often indicate an issue that needs further investigation.

If your new fuse blows then you better trace the LV circuits for further problems. (wiring or downstream components).
hennyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 05:31 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

No power to units


Quote:
Originally Posted by hennyh View Post
I don't want to "rain or your parade", but blown fuses often indicate an issue that needs further investigation.

If your new fuse blows then you better trace the LV circuits for further problems. (wiring or downstream components).
Yep. They don't blow because everything is ok.

So you got a problem some where.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 09:25 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 4
Default

No power to units


So far so good with the fuse. I will definetly keep an eye on it. We had a ton of lighting move thru the night it went out, so I'm thinking that might of had something to do with it. But again, I will continue to check on it. Thanks for all of the help!

shoyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recurring Power Oddities - Regular Schedule DamienChaos Electrical 16 10-21-2009 07:45 PM
Power tool Junkie Question UpComingBuilder Tools 3 10-05-2009 09:24 AM
No Power at Electronic Air Cleaner Junction Box edge10 HVAC 1 09-28-2009 07:26 PM
Wring for Lincoln Power Mig Welder vstoyko Electrical 17 01-15-2009 06:15 PM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.