Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-24-2011, 09:25 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

No Power to Trane EX90


I have an issue with my furnance which is a Trane XR90. There appears to be no power to the furnance. The furnance does not turn on, I can't turn the fan/blower on via the manual controls on the thermostat, the status light is out and is not blinking the normal green "all is well" code.

I have checked the breakers in the fuse box and the power switch on the furnance, all to no avail. I have also turned the breaker on and over several times in an attempt to get it to work and this is the only thing in my house that appears to be without power. Again to no avail.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what the issue seems to be or if there is an easy fix or is this an issue that is best left to a professional?

The weather here in MN for the next few days is very mild (50's) so this isn't an emergency but it would be good to get this resolved sooner rather than later.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.


Last edited by dogduster; 11-24-2011 at 09:27 AM.
dogduster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 09:29 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default

No Power to Trane EX90


Sorry for the typo, the title in the thread is wrong I have a Trane XR90 not a EX90.

dogduster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 09:36 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 449
Default

No Power to Trane EX90


I have seen people on here make this suggestion for folks who don't have knowledge of circuit breaker panels. Since we don't know your knowledge, this suggestion is offered.

When you 'throw' a breaker switch, it must be turned completely off first before it can be reset to on. There are actually 3 positions: off, on and tripped. Some people just push to on position without turning all the way off first.

Sorry if this is something you already knew.
diyorpay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 10:09 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Default

No Power to Trane EX90


I was aware of that and that is not the issue. But I do appreciate the suggestion.
dogduster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 10:13 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Default

No Power to Trane EX90


an easy and quick check is to put the fan switch on the thermostat in the "on" position, if the fan does not come on then more then likely you have no power, or the thermostat is bad. Any other advise I could give you would involve the use of a volt meter.
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 10:28 AM   #6
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Default

No Power to Trane EX90


Push in the furnace panels to verify that the door switch is depressed.

Do you have a dog outside by the condenser?
Rodents, pets and weed eaters can damage the control wire to the condenser. This can pop the low voltage fuse in the furnace if one is present and damage the 24VAC 40VA transformer if a 3 amp fuse is not present.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 10:59 AM   #7
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,625
Default

No Power to Trane EX90


if you don't even have LEDs or stat lights your 24Vs is tripped or burnt on the secondary or primary...if you have a meter shu the servcie switch OFF on the side of the furnace...remove the Black/White off the primary and ring it out if continuity shows try the Yellow/Blue on the secondary same continuity might be the board verify 24Vs out of the TR into the board
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 11:11 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,291
Default

No Power to Trane EX90


agree with biggles look for failed 24v maybe a fuse on control board...door swtich...also check with a meter 120 volt to on-off switch.....I have seen loose netural in box as well........
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 12:10 PM   #9
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,625
Default

No Power to Trane EX90


if you ever have led on the stat always do as you did...put FAN to ON on the subbase to verify 24Volts and fan relay operation...if just leds(up on stat or within furnace)then you work the board with the fan relay keep in mind the heating supply fan runs thru the board LO or Med LO speed not like FAN/ON off the subbase which is HI FAN
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 01:30 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,769
Default

No Power to Trane EX90


Check for a emergency switch at the top of the stairs, see if its turned off.

then as others said, it could be the furnace transformer is burnt out, or a fuse on the control board.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 09:58 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

No Power to Trane EX90


oh man..... there is at least 50 reasons the thing is not working....... 101 furnace repair.....is there line voltage to furnace..please advise then we can help you from there..... its really not that hard

carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dumb electrical question about potentially overloading a power socket zapp Electrical 2 02-18-2011 09:43 AM
Recurring Power Oddities - Regular Schedule DamienChaos Electrical 16 10-21-2009 07:45 PM
No Power at Electronic Air Cleaner Junction Box edge10 HVAC 1 09-28-2009 07:26 PM
Wring for Lincoln Power Mig Welder vstoyko Electrical 17 01-15-2009 06:15 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.