No Power To Furnace Blower - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2015, 11:55 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

No power to furnace blower


status code led is continuously off on furnace. Breaker is good, service switch with screw in fuse is good, fuse on control board is good. When I press door button the led should go on but it does not. Anyone have any ideas how I should troubleshoot this?

Advertisement

mmariluch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 12:12 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: MO
Posts: 338
Rewards Points: 607
Default

No power to furnace blower


I would check the transformer for 24V.

Advertisement

Bitters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 12:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 597
Rewards Points: 6
Default

No power to furnace blower


Voltage on either side of the transformer?

Cheers!
supers05 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 01:09 PM   #4
Member
 
user_12345a's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 640
Rewards Points: 1,284
Default

No power to furnace blower


Check your low voltage fuse.

With the door switch depressed, check for line voltage at the board, carefully.
user_12345a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 01:57 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

No power to furnace blower


Transformer is good - moved it to second unit to test and it works fine.
mmariluch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 02:05 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

No power to furnace blower


I don't have a voltmeter
mmariluch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 02:12 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: MO
Posts: 338
Rewards Points: 607
Default

No power to furnace blower


Try inspecting the back side of the control board.
Bitters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 03:17 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

No power to furnace blower


Back side looks good - heading out to buy a voltmeter
mmariluch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 03:19 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

No power to furnace blower


View image in mmaruluch's Album on the left

Last edited by mmariluch; 07-02-2015 at 03:23 PM.
mmariluch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 04:09 PM   #10
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 11,963
Rewards Points: 2,068
Default

No power to furnace blower


Post the Brand name and model # of the furnace or airhandler.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 05:30 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 597
Rewards Points: 6
Default

No power to furnace blower


Knowing that the transformer works, is almost pointless as transformers very seldom fail. I want to know the actual voltage across both sides. We can move on from there.

Cheers!
supers05 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 05:54 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

No power to furnace blower


Verified with voltage tester that power is coming into the control board from door switch black wire. Put one lead from voltmeter on C and other lead on R and pushed in door switch - no voltage registered.
mmariluch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 06:00 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 28
Default

No power to furnace blower


Brand is Payne
model number is pg9maa060100aeka
mmariluch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 06:25 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Canada
Posts: 597
Rewards Points: 6
Default

No power to furnace blower


Was that the terminals on the board? What about the wires from the secondary? What about the primary side?

If it's not the fuse, it's a broken wire, or cracked solder joint on the board.

Cheers!
supers05 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 06:28 PM   #15
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 11,963
Rewards Points: 2,068
Default

No power to furnace blower


I am very familiar with that furnace. Check for 24 volts AC from Sec1 and Sec2 on the board. Secondary side of the transformer. Also check for 120 volts from L1 to L2 not ground.

Look in my album there is your troubleshooting chart or it is on the back of one of the furnace doors.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 07-02-2015 at 06:33 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Plus 90 - No Blower Ducaticorse HVAC 13 01-03-2015 04:39 PM
blower problems with bryant furnace. blowerissue HVAC 4 03-13-2012 11:34 PM
Quote for new furnace. Reasonable? dengle HVAC 16 03-04-2012 07:01 AM
Payne gas furnace - blower fan running continuously Ed40 HVAC 0 02-05-2011 02:19 PM
Help with furnace blower problem Spydey HVAC 6 12-15-2010 08:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts