No Power To Furnace. - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2012, 07:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No power to Furnace.


I seem to be having more trouble with this furnace. Now it doesnt have any power. It was running fine this morning, but this evening it stopped. I went down to it and noticed there was no power. I checked the fuses all checked out fine (Going into town tomorrow to get more fuses just in case.) Other then that I checked to power from the fuse box to the one unit it checked out 120 v. From there I went to the one for the chip panel and I didnt get anything. Did the switch go bad? I'm not all that sure. Any help would be great!

Advertisement

Hawkeye40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:59 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

No power to Furnace.


If the breaker is still giving 120 volts but the path is broken on it's way to the furnace than you know what to look for. If not, you have a break in the wire after breaker before furnace. Check all neutrals, especially at switches.

Advertisement

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 12:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

No power to Furnace.


Thanks Doc I already checked people are telling me that it may be the Transformer. My question is if that goes out does it take out the entire system? Cause the LED light is not on and I'm wondering if that isthe culprit.
Hawkeye40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 06:04 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,546
Rewards Points: 4,730
Default

No power to Furnace.


If the transformer goes out, or the fuse on the control board. You won't see the LED, it requires power from teh transformer.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 06:12 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,645
Rewards Points: 2,604
Default

No power to Furnace.


check for 120 going to transformer ''black and white... if you have 120 volt..check for 24 volt comming out of transformer could be yellow and blue..would help to know the kind of furnace you have..ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
furnace power wiring question w/photo pirateplow HVAC 1 12-17-2011 07:32 AM
Furnace fan power consumption? DIYGST Electrical 5 04-19-2010 02:00 PM
Gas Furnace Power Venter Problem JoBlowHomeOwner HVAC 6 10-17-2009 10:05 PM
furnace or electrical help tuasoi Electrical 13 11-29-2007 01:53 PM
furnace and or electrical problems tuasoi General DIY Discussions 4 11-29-2007 01:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts