Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-19-2011, 10:31 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

No Power To Furnace


New to the site and any help would be appreciated. I went to turn on my furnace (Carrier) and it will not start. Checked the diagnostic blinking light and the code reads "secondary voltage fuse is open. Check for short circuit in secondary voltage (24vac) wiring." Can anyone tell me what the problem might be and if I can fix it myself? Thanks.

GravelGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 11:45 AM   #2
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No Power To Furnace


Check wires between thermostat and furnace for short, poor contact . Check transformer.

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 05:10 PM   #3
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 1
Default

No Power To Furnace


The fuse is on the control board located behind the blower door.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 10:00 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No Power To Furnace


Thanksfor the replies! The fuse was blown. Replaced fuse and AC and blower work. As soon as I switch to heat, it blows the fuse again. Is it a short or transformer as mentioned earlier?
GravelGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 10:31 AM   #5
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 1
Default

No Power To Furnace


It is a short either in stat, wiring, or control board. Remove the wire from w on control board and then jumper R to W. Does the fuse blow? If yes, it is the control board or shorted wire in the furnace. If no, it is either stat or stat wiring. Report back and we can go from there.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 11:02 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No Power To Furnace


Just tried that and the fuse still blew.
GravelGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 11:25 AM   #7
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Rewards Points: 0
Blog Entries: 1
Default

No Power To Furnace


Check all low volt wiring in furnace for shorts to ground. Check through all limit and safety switches. If nothing found then it is probably the board. Check all wires to ground for continuity.

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Surges?!?!!? drewsheez Electrical 9 04-03-2011 07:40 PM
Furnace fan power consumption? DIYGST Electrical 5 04-19-2010 01:00 PM
Gas Furnace Power Venter Problem JoBlowHomeOwner HVAC 6 10-17-2009 09:05 PM
furnace or electrical help tuasoi Electrical 13 11-29-2007 12:53 PM
furnace and or electrical problems tuasoi General DIY Discussions 4 11-29-2007 12:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.