Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-14-2012, 05:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 112
Share |
Default

No plenum? Mass of flex duct all bunched together.


So a couple years ago, I had a new rooftop unit installed on my house here in Phoenix, AZ. Its a 3.5 ton Lennox unit and it replaced a very old Carrier unit. The installers added a second return to the system at the same time and ran a bigger/better supply to the kitchen than the one that was there. They also put in a new roof jack.

I always assumed there would be a plenum up in the attic that all the ducts then attached to/ran off of. I was hoping to do my own duct work for a project I'm working on, but I went up there this weekend for a plumbing project and did a little exploring while I was up there. I found that there is just a massive tangle of flex duct running from where the roof jack enters the attic with no where to tap in for new lines. I also noted that at least one of the flex line has a 180 degree turn in it before making a further 90 degree turn.

What the heck? Is a plenum not required? Is it so small that the mass of flex duct conceals it?

The company that did the work is one of the most respected in the city with all kinds of ethics awards and lifetime workmanship guaranties, etc. Do I have a legitimate gripe here? Should I at least have someone come out and look at it?

JeepNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 05:41 PM   #2
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,895
Default

No plenum? Mass of flex duct all bunched together.


Picture?

__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 06:01 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,196
Default

No plenum? Mass of flex duct all bunched together.


Why would you not call them and ask them?
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 07:31 PM   #4
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

No plenum? Mass of flex duct all bunched together.


Sow us some pics before you go medieval on them.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 08:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 300
Default

No plenum? Mass of flex duct all bunched together.


call them and ask them to come out and look. I would read up on the best practices for flex duct. I think you will find that yours is not up to "standards". (my experiance is that most are not)

While your at it, you might ask them how they would add a new run.

If you have a 270 degree turn in a flex and its not done right, you could have really high static pressure. This will shorten the life of the equipment and also make you electric bill higher.

There are so many things to look at and for, so pictures would be best...

btw, what part of town are you in??? I am in mesa/tempe.
bobinphx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 11:30 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 112
Default

No plenum? Mass of flex duct all bunched together.


I'll get some pictures this weekend when I go back up there to run wires for smoke detectors. In the meantime, I may just have the guy come out and look. Since they want $2500 in new business from me, I'm betting they will.

JeepNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using flex duct for return. lakeresident HVAC 3 11-14-2011 09:56 AM
Planning on New duct work..any feedback... kilosos2 HVAC 28 01-26-2011 09:21 AM
Jenn-Aire Downdraft - OEM flex duct required? Dwizzo Appliances 0 10-09-2010 04:35 PM
Metal duct or flex? smokey982 HVAC 6 08-06-2010 06:20 AM
Flex Duct Advice ssporty21228 HVAC 4 07-23-2008 08:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.