Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-18-2008, 03:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

no pilot light


Hi
I have a Bryant (BDP) plus 90 model 398A gas [COLOR=blue! important][FONT=verdana, geneva, lucida, 'lucida grande', arial, helvetica, sans-serif][COLOR=blue! important][FONT=verdana, geneva, lucida, 'lucida grande', arial, helvetica, sans-serif]furnace[/FONT][/FONT][/COLOR][/COLOR]. I woke up this morning and the house was cold. I tried to restart the furnace, the motor starts but NO ticking sound for the pilot light and so the pilot light doesn't come on. the motor keeps on running and no pilot light . I replaced the circuit board with a new one last year. Do you think it is the spark ignitor not working?. how do I test it. could I just replace it without testing and hope it was the problem. anything I need to worry about when I replace it? I know it has " [COLOR=blue! important][FONT=verdana, geneva, lucida, 'lucida grande', arial, helvetica, sans-serif][COLOR=blue! important][FONT=verdana, geneva, lucida, 'lucida grande', arial, helvetica, sans-serif]high [/FONT][COLOR=blue! important][FONT=verdana, geneva, lucida, 'lucida grande', arial, helvetica, sans-serif]voltage[/FONT][/COLOR][/FONT][/COLOR][/COLOR]" written on it. so, I will teurn off the electric switch before I start. Thanx for any help.

adrenalic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 03:57 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Default

no pilot light


Start by checking the drain hoses and make sure the drain is clear.

SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 04:04 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default

no pilot light


what drains?
adrenalic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 04:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Default

no pilot light


That model may have a black trap mounted to the blower housing in the bottom of the furnace. It is kind of behind the circuit board. This trap will have 2 hoses going to it. Pull the hoses off and see if any water is backed up in the furnace.
SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 05:31 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default

no pilot light


pulled the 2 hoses from the black trap. No water back up is evident.
adrenalic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 06:16 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default

no pilot light


I also unhooked the black trap and the pvc tubing, cleaned them all up and reassembled and connected the 2 tubes. still no go.
the pilot light is not getting a signal to click and ignite.
adrenalic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 06:24 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Default

no pilot light


If you have a meter you can check continuity with, remove the burner box cover, unplug the 3 wire pilot wires and check for continuity across the wires. The schematic will tell you whats normally open and closed.
SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 06:48 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default

no pilot light


burner box cover. Is it the box which has a little window where you can see the pilot lite?.
adrenalic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 06:58 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default

no pilot light


if it is. I removed 3 screws from the bottom and tried to remove e front cover. It is jammed. could it be ruste or glued? how hard should I pull?.
adrenalic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2008, 08:02 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Default

no pilot light


You might have to pry the cover off. Sometimes they are stuck pretty good.
SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 07:21 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default

no pilot light


OK, I was able to remove the cover.
I tried to start the furnace with the cover off, and it did. after the inducer motor started, I heard the ticking sound and few seconds later the pilot light came on, I covered the burner box and all flames ignited . I am afraid when the furnace goes thru the next cycle the pilot light will not come on again. does this help in diagnosing what is going on?
adrenalic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 09:41 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Default

no pilot light


Problem solved.
the problem was with the intake pipe. when I took off the burner box I could see a lot of junk behind the strainer of the intake pipe. unscrewed 4 screws on top of the intake pipe and disconnected it from the burner box and removed the dirt .
I hope this will help someone else.
Many thanx to Skip. you led me to the burner box.
adrenalic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 12:57 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Default

no pilot light


Quote:
Originally Posted by adrenalic View Post
Problem solved.
the problem was with the intake pipe. when I took off the burner box I could see a lot of junk behind the strainer of the intake pipe. unscrewed 4 screws on top of the intake pipe and disconnected it from the burner box and removed the dirt .
I hope this will help someone else.
Many thanx to Skip. you led me to the burner box.
Yup. Debris, kids and pests are sworn enemies of intake pipes.

Basically your inducer wasn't able to pull enough vacuum due to the blockage to close your pressure switch. The system worked like it was designed to keep you safe.

dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pilot Light Won't Stay Lit etiger1 HVAC 7 10-19-2009 07:09 PM
Pilot light button on furnace won't turn whydonchathen HVAC 5 10-05-2008 11:03 PM
Is a pilot light supose to stay on? simonb HVAC 2 06-11-2008 05:16 PM
heat turns pilot light off tclarkmd HVAC 3 10-12-2007 09:37 AM
hot pilot light supply line dlkk HVAC 1 02-24-2006 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.