Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-18-2007, 09:55 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

No Heat From The Unit


Howdy,
Three year old unit has been working fine until I tried the heat last night. At first it's just regular cool air flowing and then after 5 or 6 minutes just stops all together. I tried decipering the user manual and it says to make sure the light is burning. I look through the hole and No Light. I look for the ignitor and I don't see one anywhere.

I googled the model number G6RC-080C-16B and couldn't find any information. I tried Nordyne.com and it wasn't helpful at all.

I know that this is not much information to go off of, but.....HELP!

andylube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 12:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 190
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No Heat From The Unit


http://www.nordyne.com/Literature/708503a.pdf

looks like the install guide for your furnace series.

Of particular interest is page 36. You need to observe the flashes of the red status light in order to determine what the problem is.

Your model decipher : (http://www.nordyne.com/Literature/400a.pdf)
G(Gas) 6(Series) R(Residential) C(Upflow, condensing)
080 (80kBtu input) C(Canada) - 16(1600CFM airflow) B(cabinet width 19 3/4")

Couple other things: are you sure furnace is even on? Some homes have Summer/Winter switches that disable the heater. Did you make sure gas supply is on? Sometimes people will turn off the gas to a furnace at heating season end 'just in case' and forget about it.
If by 'ignitor' you mean pilot light, these furnaces don't have it - they use hot surface igiters.


Last edited by scorrpio; 09-18-2007 at 01:11 PM.
scorrpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2007, 08:20 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No Heat From The Unit


Great place to start!!! Thank you so much for the info. I'll take a look today.

Couple other things: are you sure furnace is even on? I believe so. The air is blowing but not warm air, within a couple of minutes it stops. Some homes have Summer/Winter switches that disable the heater.
Did you make sure gas supply is on? I believe it's on, I never shut it off from last year. I double checked and the handle is in lateral position. Sometimes people will turn off the gas to a furnace at heating season end 'just in case' and forget about it.
If by 'ignitor' you mean pilot light, these furnaces don't have it - they use hot surface igiters. That explains why the manual says "not pictured".
andylube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2007, 03:42 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 190
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No Heat From The Unit


Remember, forced air system allow furnce blower to be operated independent of heater, in order to profide flow for A/C or fan only ventilation. If main blower comes on, furnace apparently has power.

Refer to the installation guide - the startup procedure on page 32, sequence of operation on page 38. Flashes of the red status light are really the important part. There seem to be a few switches you might need to check/reset. You also might have an open limit somewhere - either due to blocked vent/supply or a problem with a drain line.
scorrpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 10:39 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No Heat From The Unit


Looks like I get two flashes that indicates "pressure switch is open with inducer on"

I get some gurgling from the condensation pump. has to be some blockage somewhere.

How do I clean this out? Someone told me vinegar will disolve grime. Ist true? and if so where do I pour?
andylube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2007, 09:31 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 190
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No Heat From The Unit


Pressure switch open generally means that during pre-purge, blower fails to achieve sufficient air flow down intake/exhaust. Examine their terminations for blockage. And yeah, check condensate lines.

scorrpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting a House..heatpump or no? DavidsCPU HVAC 10 02-07-2010 10:22 PM
Fujitsu Heat Pump Concerns SanDiegoCool HVAC 3 03-19-2009 12:27 PM
Central heat and air unit leak ? bdalekid HVAC 1 03-21-2007 07:31 AM
Furnace blew up, need to replace heat and air with single unit. d_Random HVAC 2 02-06-2007 04:18 PM
heat pump dreck HVAC 2 09-11-2006 07:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.