No Heat. Sequencer Faulty? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2015, 10:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

no heat. sequencer faulty?


i have a american standard/trane air handler TWE036P13 with electric heat. unit blows air but only cool air when in heat mode. checked stat and now thinking it is bad sequencer. i am a DIYer. can i simply replace the sequencer? can i find original replacement part or must i instal a compatible one. and how do i figure out the wiring? any help is appreciated.

Advertisement

spire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 06:35 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 27,427
Rewards Points: 6,462
Default

no heat. sequencer faulty?


Replace wire for wire. Get model number of sequencer off of the old one. Could also be a blown heater coil.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
spire (02-22-2015)
Old 02-22-2015, 04:25 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

no heat. sequencer faulty?


before replacing parts could someone assist me in doing tests. i have only a multimeter but unfamiliar with wiring diagrams. i would like to test element continuity and test for how much load.
spire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 06:10 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 27,427
Rewards Points: 6,462
Default

no heat. sequencer faulty?


Turn off power. Put meter to ohms. Put probes on the strip heater posts. Should read between 10 and 14 ohms.

If ohm reading is correct. Then turn power back on. Set meter to voltage. Put probes on sequencer and see if it reads 240 or 0 volts across sequencer. Should read zero, after heat has been called for 2 minutes.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
spire (02-22-2015)
Old 02-22-2015, 08:03 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

no heat. sequencer faulty?


thank you beenthere. when testing sequencer do i test each individual switch. and if so, i'll know which sequence switch is not functioning. am i correct in assuming if the first switch doesn't function then the others won't work either even if switch is not faulty? or am i to put the probes on to test the entire switch?
again thanks for your help. it is much appreciated.
spire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 08:30 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 27,427
Rewards Points: 6,462
Default

no heat. sequencer faulty?


The second sequencer can work even if the first isn't.

Yes, each switch.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
spire (02-22-2015)
Old 02-23-2015, 12:54 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

no heat. sequencer faulty?


OK opened up my furnace and have model BAYHTR1415BRKAC manufactured 5/2005. i see recalls on this model between 4/2003 - 2/2004. need to replace sequencer but should i simply replace the whole unit? wondering what people with more expertise think. any suggestions on replacement also appreciate.
spire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 08:01 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 631
Rewards Points: 564
Default

no heat. sequencer faulty?


So far just guessing. A pro would check to see if voltage is being fed to the coil (s) first and also make sure voltage is going to sequencer. Then go from there.
techpappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 08:11 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

no heat. sequencer faulty?


techpappy,
get a pro? thought this was a DIY site.
spire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2015, 08:28 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 631
Rewards Points: 564
Default

no heat. sequencer faulty?


I didn't say get a pro. You asked what experienced techs would do so I just advised you what a professional tech would do first. You also said there were recalls on 2003 and 4's but yours is a 2005 so may be OK. Sooooo, just check to see if voltage os going into the sequencer and if so, is it reaching the heating coils, then decide what to do from there. No need to change sequencer if it is feeding voltage to the coils. Let us know how you make out. All the best. Techpappy
techpappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 05:55 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 27,427
Rewards Points: 6,462
Default

no heat. sequencer faulty?


Quote:
Originally Posted by spire View Post
OK opened up my furnace and have model BAYHTR1415BRKAC manufactured 5/2005. i see recalls on this model between 4/2003 - 2/2004. need to replace sequencer but should i simply replace the whole unit? wondering what people with more expertise think. any suggestions on replacement also appreciate.
I'd just get the sequencer.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 07:33 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

no heat. sequencer faulty?


hi beenthere. tested sequencer but saw that on one of the low voltage connection terminals had burnt black on it. even though it tested i decided to replace it. installed new sequencer and it didn't do the trick. couldnt test the coils because the breakers were blocking me from getting access to full access. tought i would get lucky to no avail. will pull breakers today. my thinking was that maybe i should just replace the complete element including coils, contactors, limit switches. more money but since it's all 10 years old good preventitive maintenance. what do you think?
spire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 08:53 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 14
Default

no heat. sequencer faulty?


beenthere, just tested new sequencer while unit is on for 10 minutes. had 0 volts on secondary relay but on primary relay showing 1-2 volts. you said it should be zero. also 0 volts flowing through all contactors. can you direct me on what to check next? sequencer is getting 22 volts. should this be 24 volts? thx

Advertisement


Last edited by spire; 02-24-2015 at 08:59 AM.
spire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric heat , sequencer


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gas furnace efficiency, hybrid heat pump, and payback times av-geek HVAC 1 06-22-2012 08:46 AM
heat sequencer question FixedIT HVAC 5 05-30-2012 09:00 PM
Governments Renewable Heat Incentive SMurray Green Home Improvement 1 10-24-2010 09:30 AM
Comparison and Heat Pump Selection help... ChrisDIY HVAC 7 03-06-2010 09:34 PM
Heat Pump Woes Zenica HVAC 50 01-27-2009 08:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts