No Heat (Rheem Gas Pack) - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-03-2010, 01:20 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

No heat (Rheem gas pack)

Hello all, newbie here. Glad to have found you guys.

I have a '00 Rheem gas pack model RRKA-A030JK08E. I've had no trouble since installing it 10 years back. Yesterday morning I turned on my heat for the first time this fall. Air blew, but no heat. I fiddled with the thermostat for several minutes to no avail. Anyway, yesterday's high was in the upper 60's, and since it was Saturday, I thought I'd wait until Monday to call a serviceman. Today, after talking to the guy who installed it (not a repairman), he told me to check a few things.

First I blew out all the debris, checked all the fittings to ensure they were tight (they were). I had my wife turn on the heat while I watched the unit outside. The fan came on fine, the unit tried to fire and I could see 1 of 4 "inlet" tubes fire up. It shut off about 2 seconds later. After about 30 seconds it tried to fire again, same thing. This occurred about 5 or 6 times then the whole unit shut off.

Any ideas what the problem is? Thanks.

Advertisement

Kilo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 04:00 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing

Rewards Points: 1,000

No heat (Rheem gas pack)

other burners / cross over tubes clogged up. flame sensor not detecting flame from the burners shuting unit down

Advertisement

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 04:51 PM   #3

No heat (Rheem gas pack)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmac View Post
other burners / cross over tubes clogged up. flame sensor not detecting flame from the burners shuting unit down
Can you advise how to unclog tubes?
Can you advise how to fix sensor? I assume changing it, but where is it?
Old 10-03-2010, 06:02 PM   #4
HVAC / Plumbing

No heat (Rheem gas pack)