Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-22-2009, 11:59 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

no heat,a/c or blower fan

Hello. I am a newbie.User and homeowner. I am hoping someone can help me avoid calling someone in to fix this problem.
It started a few weeks ago and I have been trying to figure something out and I have had no luck
One day the a/c just stopped working. I turned the thermo off and left it alone until I had time to mess with it. A friend thought it might be the therm itself and changed it. That didn't work. I then decided to check if the heat would work and nothing. If I turn the fan setting to "on" or "auto" nothing. I do not know what else to do. I checked the fuse box to make sure all were on and they are. I even switched them all off and back on to be sure.
I read somewhere that if you twist the red and green wire at the thermo together you should get something. I did that and nothing. I have a gas furnace up in the attic and an a/c compressor(the big unit outside). Both units in and out say comfortmaker. I would appreciate any help you can offer. It is getting pretty cold and the funds are very low right now. Thank you in advance.
BTW: the troubleshooting indicator light is not even on. no flashing or solid. nothing at all

Last edited by suelc; 11-22-2009 at 12:11 PM.
suelc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 12:22 PM   #2
Hvac Pro

Rewards Points: 2,348

You have no power to the furnace. Trace the main high voltage power wire from the furnace back and see if there is a power switch that someone accidentally shut off. Try remove the doors from the furnace and put them back on. There is a door switch behind one and it may be loose.

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 12:51 PM   #3

If I have no power to the furnace, would that stop the a/c from working too?