Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-22-2009, 11:59 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no heat,a/c or blower fan


Hello. I am a newbie.User and homeowner. I am hoping someone can help me avoid calling someone in to fix this problem.
It started a few weeks ago and I have been trying to figure something out and I have had no luck
One day the a/c just stopped working. I turned the thermo off and left it alone until I had time to mess with it. A friend thought it might be the therm itself and changed it. That didn't work. I then decided to check if the heat would work and nothing. If I turn the fan setting to "on" or "auto" nothing. I do not know what else to do. I checked the fuse box to make sure all were on and they are. I even switched them all off and back on to be sure.
I read somewhere that if you twist the red and green wire at the thermo together you should get something. I did that and nothing. I have a gas furnace up in the attic and an a/c compressor(the big unit outside). Both units in and out say comfortmaker. I would appreciate any help you can offer. It is getting pretty cold and the funds are very low right now. Thank you in advance.
BTW: the troubleshooting indicator light is not even on. no flashing or solid. nothing at all


Last edited by suelc; 11-22-2009 at 12:11 PM.
suelc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 12:22 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,605
Rewards Points: 2,348
Default

no heat,a/c or blower fan


You have no power to the furnace. Trace the main high voltage power wire from the furnace back and see if there is a power switch that someone accidentally shut off. Try remove the doors from the furnace and put them back on. There is a door switch behind one and it may be loose.

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 12:51 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no heat,a/c or blower fan


If I have no power to the furnace, would that stop the a/c from working too?
I tried taking the doors off and replacing them many times and nothing. I checked the power switch at the furnace and it is on. I even check the voltage to the switch and it is fine. What else can I try. And thank you for responding. Sue
suelc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 01:03 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,605
Rewards Points: 2,348
Default

no heat,a/c or blower fan


The A/C and furnace share the same 24 volt power supply from the furnace. On the circuit board to the furnace there should be a small 3 or 5 amp GM blade type fuse which is probably blown. Check the wiring to the A/C outside. Rodents or dog or weedwhacker may have damaged it and the fuse is blowing.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 01:07 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no heat,a/c or blower fan


I had read something about this fuse before. I tried to take the circuit board off but the actual board is inside a plastic type box. Can I pop this box open? I was unsure if this was okay to do, so I screwed it back on.
suelc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 01:33 PM   #6
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 592
Rewards Points: 510
Default

no heat,a/c or blower fan


Maybe you should go ahead a call a pro.
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 01:41 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no heat,a/c or blower fan


Thanks. I know that. But as I said, I do not have the $$ right now.
suelc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 02:10 PM   #8
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,605
Rewards Points: 2,348
Default

no heat,a/c or blower fan


Post some pics of the furnace with both doors off, especially where the thermostat wires attach and that board. Some of those units have a fuse which is not on the board but inline with the wiring from the transformer in a small black plastic cylinder or other device.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 02:51 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no heat,a/c or blower fan


I cannot post a pic right now. I will later though. I did take the circuit board apart and there was no fuse inside it. Maybe it will be somewhere else? Is that what you are saying?
It just seems that it would have to be a power issue like you said. Is it possible for everything not to work and it not be power related? Thank you for your help. I truly appreciate you.
suelc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 03:23 PM   #10
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,605
Rewards Points: 2,348
Default

no heat,a/c or blower fan


If there is no LED then it sounds like there is no 24 volts to the circuit board. Find the transformer and check if it is putting out 24 volts. There should be 24 volts from R to C on the board. There should be a fuse after the transformer or inline with the wiring somewhere.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 04:39 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no heat,a/c or blower fan


here are some pics. Sorry. camera is not working had to use a cell phone
Attached Images
     
suelc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 04:49 PM   #12
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,605
Rewards Points: 2,348
Default

no heat,a/c or blower fan


If you took that circuit board apart and disturbed it then it may be unsafe to use! It is a critical safety item as it contains the flame failure response circuitry. I am not comfortable going any further. Sorry.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 05:07 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no heat,a/c or blower fan


That's okay. Thanks anyway. All i did was take it out of the box it was in. There was no fuse and I put it back together. Something is definitely stopping power. I appreciate all of your help. Have a great holiday season. Sue

suelc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comfortmaker blower intermittent problem jh44ny HVAC 12 07-31-2011 06:41 PM
Heat comes on but blower never does aczer HVAC 12 02-13-2011 06:57 AM
Acceptable Blower Vibration John_NH HVAC 15 11-21-2010 12:49 PM
Carrier 58MXA Wiring Blower Switch 63012753 HVAC 0 10-06-2009 09:09 PM
AC blower short cycling-works on heat though Steve60007 HVAC 14 06-22-2009 04:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.