Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-18-2009, 12:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no heat


we own a CARRIER model # 58M CA080-16.

IT WON'T RUN!
we have done all the simple trouble shoot things that are posted on the furnance, but isn't there more we can before calling the serviceman?
the blower works, the thermostat works, the electronic pilot light is trying to light, and the gas line is fine.

it just won't light.

since the furnance stopped and we did not notice, (its upstairs in an unused dormitory) the water line coming from the furnance has frozen.
we have defrosted it, and it is free to drip now.

what else can we do?

thanks,
rosie


readandpost rosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 01:30 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,603
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

no heat


Check the intake and exhaust plastic pipes outside for blockage. If it has a donut shaped unit that does both (called a concentric/ pipe within a pipe vent) stick your fingers behind the round donut and check for blockage there. If frozen up you may need to thaw that out with a hairdryer. I use a paintstripper gun as it has more heat output. Be careful not to melt it. Then turn the power off, wait a minute and then turn back on.

yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 03:01 PM   #3
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

no heat


You say the pilot is actually trying to light. I take that as meaning it is sparking and or glowing HSI. I am not sure exactly what you have. You may just have a dirty pilot. It normally will not try to light if the intake pipe is frosted.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 04:33 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,603
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

no heat


Those Carriers are very finicky and a partially plugged intake changes the velocity of the air thru the burner box and upsets them. Has a HSI.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 04:49 PM   #5
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

no heat


Got it. I work do more with the Trane units. Thay have simmilar issues.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 06:11 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no heat


after another prompt from my son, he mentioned a flashing code.
so we checked and it is code #31
.
pilot is fine.
this is wisconsin, and climbing up on the roof to check for intake blockage could be trecherous.
readandpost rosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 06:15 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,603
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

no heat


Code 31 has to do with a pressure switch problem which can be related to blocked venting. I suggest you call a Carrier tech as there are several different scenarios (none DIY able) to find out the problem. It may or may not have plugged venting. Or you can climb up there.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 06:16 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no heat


UPDATE!
there is no sparking or flashing of a pilot light.
hubby has changed his mind.

readandpost rosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 06:17 PM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,603
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

no heat


Look at my reply above yours for more info. I would talk him down unless you have good life insurance.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 06:19 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no heat


i will call my heater guy in the morning!
thanks folks! what a great site!

rosie

readandpost rosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 07:28 PM   #11
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

no heat


if you had water in the ID venting it might of work its way down into the tube that runs from the pressure switch to the duct at the ID conection.remove it then reconnect to the switch and lightly blow into it you should hear a clicking sound ever time you blow into it.right there you are simulating the ID motor running from the air in the smaller duct that the other end of the sensing tube goes to........ID=induced draft motor if your daring a small wire jumper on the 2 terminals on the pressure switch(24Vs)will confirm the switch or tube isn't functioning?have everything calling toggles up/stat calling,and just touch the 2 terminals with the jumper see if you get a start them pull it back
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 11:02 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

no heat


THANKS everyone.
the HVAC guy came and it was INDEED built up frost in the intake/exhaust pvc pipe.
seems that the run they put on, was not straight up, but rather a long horizontal pipe to the other side of the house, before going up through the roof.
WRONG!

we have heat now, and we will keep everything thawed!
in spring we will have the PVC run redone.

THANKS AGAIN FOR ALL OF YOU HELP!

readandpost rosie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Getting a House..heatpump or no? DavidsCPU HVAC 10 02-07-2010 10:22 PM
Heat Pump Woes Zenica HVAC 50 01-27-2009 07:37 AM
Cracked Heat Exchanger SusanB. HVAC 12 10-14-2008 03:57 PM
Which diagram to use on Lenox Thermostat wiring setup? Heat Pump Lenox techs needed twilightcall HVAC 1 08-13-2008 11:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.