Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2012, 03:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Share |
Default

No Heat ?


I have a GMV95 Goodman Furnace. Its been working fine for the last 4 years except I had to replace the main board last year. Just noticed yesterday that the intake fan was running continuously. I shut the power off and turned it on after a couple minutes. Now the intake fan and the blower run continuously. I shut the power off and read up on some issues notes in other boards. I removed the ignitor, flame sensor and primary limit sensor cleaned them up lightly with some light sand paper and re installed. Still no ignition or flame. I cant smell any gas. I have checked the source coming in from outside and that looks good and the valve is in the on position. I have a gas water heater and that is on the same line. It is giving hot water. I turned the gas valve switch off and on leaving it in the off position for a couple minutes. Still no ignition or flame. When I turned the thermostat off and restarted the furnace (no call for heat) the intake fan and blower fan still come on. This makes me think to replace the primary limit sensor, ignitor and/or flame sensor. But before I do this I wanted to see if I am way off base here. I am hoping its not the gas valve. But thinking it could be? Thanks

Oh and the flash code is 13 flashes and then off...which isn't listed in the manual.

jesmoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 03:35 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

No Heat ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jesmoose View Post
I have a GMV95 Goodman Furnace. Its been working fine for the last 4 years except I had to replace the main board last year. Just noticed yesterday that the intake fan was running continuously. I shut the power off and turned it on after a couple minutes. Now the intake fan and the blower run continuously. I shut the power off and read up on some issues notes in other boards. I removed the ignitor, flame sensor and primary limit sensor cleaned them up lightly with some light sand paper and re installed. Still no ignition or flame. I cant smell any gas. I have checked the source coming in from outside and that looks good and the valve is in the on position. I have a gas water heater and that is on the same line. It is giving hot water. I turned the gas valve switch off and on leaving it in the off position for a couple minutes. Still no ignition or flame. When I turned the thermostat off and restarted the furnace (no call for heat) the intake fan and blower fan still come on. This makes me think to replace the primary limit sensor, ignitor and/or flame sensor. But before I do this I wanted to see if I am way off base here. I am hoping its not the gas valve. But thinking it could be? Thanks

Oh and the flash code is 13 flashes and then off...which isn't listed in the manual.
use a volt meter to check if limit open...

carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 04:23 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Default

No Heat ?


will do...we have one. Will respond back when we test...although it won't be until later tonight, since he is out working. Thanks!
jesmoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 06:18 PM   #4
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,491
Default

No Heat ?


An unlisted diagnostic led flash sequence is almost always a board problem.
Your main blower will run continuously & stop any ignition if you have any break anywhere in your safety limit circuit but that still wouldn't explain the 13 flashes.
If you do end up needing a new board, you need to find what is degrading them so quickly. A loose furnace ground is the most common cause.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 07:30 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Default

No Heat ?


We assumed the last board went bad due to moisture. It was pretty corroded, we get a wet basement in the spring. Not to mention that we had a shady contractor due installation...he had the drain draining into the unit rather then out. We also have an older home. Replaced the board last spring prior to replacing it lasted 3 years. Worked on fixing the water problems and it actually has been pretty amazingly dry considering. The board looks really good...but that can also be deceiving. We have a heat pump if that makes a difference? It is just really odd how it has been working fine for a year and all of a sudden...
jesmoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 07:44 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Default

No Heat ?


OH and the board we bought wasn't the same as the original...it is an Emerson(listed as a substitute) and it has 2 lights instead of only 1 like the original.
Thanks for insight...anything helps!
jesmoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 08:15 PM   #7
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,491
Default

No Heat ?


Does your legend for explaining the meaning of the diagnostic led flashes actually refer to your substituted board? If not, your board may still be OK.

Last edited by how; 04-30-2012 at 08:18 PM.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 08:54 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Default

No Heat ?


We are using the legend off of the furnace manual not the new board, so we should be using the boards diagnostics...not even sure we have them? I tried locating something for it off of the internet but couldn't locate anything.
jesmoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2012, 10:42 PM   #9
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,746
Default

No Heat ?


Smart valve gas valve? Two plugs on the gas valve, ignition and control. If so, change it.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 11:48 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Default

No Heat ?


Used the volt meter and everything is getting "juice".
jesmoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 11:26 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Default

No Heat ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Smart valve gas valve? Two plugs on the gas valve, ignition and control. If so, change it.
I guess we are a bit confused as to what a Smart valve is...I can attach a picture of it if that helps?


jesmoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 04:26 PM   #12
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,491
Default

No Heat ?


That's just a simple 2 stage gas valve, not a smart valve with all the potential bad stuff that "Doc" was worried about.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 06:16 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Default

No Heat ?


Thanks! Well I guess with us being in the dark here we are going to order a Primary Limit, Flame Sensor, Rollout Limit and a Gas Valve and hope its at least one of those issues?!
jesmoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 06:35 PM   #14
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,491
Default

No Heat ?


Hold them ordering horses. Those parts are unlikely to be the problem but you can check the limit circuit to confirm that.

What exactly did you mean by..
Used the volt meter and everything is getting "juice".

Turn off the furnace power.
Find a limit control, follow the lines in either direction away from it through the other safety controls until they get back to the board. Disconnect those two lines from the board and do a continuity test on that safety limit circuit. Is it open or closed? You can also disconnect every safety switch to individually test them as well.
Let us know what you find.

You mght also remove your board to examine the back of it for any burned or corroded connections.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2012, 06:46 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

No Heat ?


I agree .... slow down.... check the limit.....

carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump infoskr HVAC 34 11-20-2013 04:24 PM
Heat Pump Thermostat HELP!!! MichaelG HVAC 22 12-09-2010 04:50 PM
Comparison and Heat Pump Selection help... ChrisDIY HVAC 7 03-06-2010 08:34 PM
Heat Pump Woes Zenica HVAC 50 01-27-2009 07:37 AM
Which diagram to use on Lenox Thermostat wiring setup? Heat Pump Lenox techs needed twilightcall HVAC 1 08-13-2008 11:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.