Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-25-2007, 10:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

No glow


I am trying to help my neighbor fix her gas heater. There is no glow. There is no gas output. There is no 24 volts at the igniter or any of the limit switches ( checked I believe 7 of them ). Both fans come on and stay on. Have code 4. However I checked ( ohm ) the 7 limit switches and they all seem to be okay. Also checked for 24 volts coming out of the transformer and its okay also. Am now puzzled. Is the board bad or what might be the next step.. Thanks in advance

onefleshforlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 06:11 PM   #2
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No glow


Hi onefleshforlife

Take a voltage reading across each of the limits with the thermostat calling for heat. If you have a voltage reading at any of the limits, that limit is open. From what you have listed the only other possibilty would be a pressure switch stuck closed. The easiest way to determine that is with the unit calling for heat is to unplug one wire from the pressure switch. Be careful while performing this, if you short it out you could damage the transformer or blow low voltage fuse on the board.

Good luck
Rusty

__________________
Character is doing the right thing even when no one is looking. Intelligence is understanding and practicing the meaning of character.
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2007, 06:21 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No glow


Hi Rusty thanks for responding.. I have no voltage at any of the limit switches.. I did trace voltage only when the if you will the output wire on the Big black limit switch ( I believe may be the high limit switch ) is disconnected once I connect it all voltage is lost.. Thanks again P.S. I did what you suggested and didn't fix it..

Last edited by onefleshforlife; 10-26-2007 at 07:52 PM.
onefleshforlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 12:38 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No glow


Has this unit stumped everybody ??
onefleshforlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gas drier blows cold air Bad Karma Appliances 10 08-03-2007 11:43 AM
Glow plug warning light is flashing spidenkin Automotive Repairs 1 07-18-2007 03:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.