Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2010, 12:50 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

No cold air from A/C unit


Both the blower fan and condensing fan run. However there is no cold air coming out. It is the same temp as outside air. I have checked the dual capacitor and it looks to be fine. What else can I check before I have to call a tech.

kking131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 01:01 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: port st lucie, florida
Posts: 444
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No cold air from A/C unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by kking131 View Post
Both the blower fan and condensing fan run. However there is no cold air coming out. It is the same temp as outside air. I have checked the dual capacitor and it looks to be fine. What else can I check before I have to call a tech.
Look at the top of the cap. If it isn't flat . If it is bulge it is open. You didn't say if the compresser is running out side . Just both fan's. Sound's like the start - run cap. is bad.

del schisler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 01:42 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No cold air from A/C unit


The cap of the capacitor is flat no leaks. There is only one capacitor. were do I look to find the run cap?
kking131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 01:45 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No cold air from A/C unit


The compressor hums briefly when it is started and will hum ever now and then
kking131 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2010, 01:52 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,115
Rewards Points: 130
Default

No cold air from A/C unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by kking131 View Post
The cap of the capacitor is flat no leaks. There is only one capacitor. were do I look to find the run cap?
that is the run cap. You probably don't have a start cap.

Sounds like you should call a tech now if you don't have a good electrical meter. And turn the thermostat system switch to off. before anymore damage is done to the compressor.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 06:49 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: port st lucie, florida
Posts: 444
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No cold air from A/C unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by kking131 View Post
The cap of the capacitor is flat no leaks. There is only one capacitor. were do I look to find the run cap?
It is only 1 cap. but it is a start and run all in 1 unit. It should have i belive 3 spade lug's on top with probly 4 wires 2 go to the same place and of course the other's go to the other spades. Now it could be open with a slite buldge? Sound's like a service call .
del schisler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 04:16 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,115
Rewards Points: 130
Default

No cold air from A/C unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by del schisler View Post
It is only 1 cap. but it is a start and run all in 1 unit. It should have i belive 3 spade lug's on top with probly 4 wires 2 go to the same place and of course the other's go to the other spades. Now it could be open with a slite buldge? Sound's like a service call .
No, it is not an all in one cap.

If it has 3 separate terminals on it. It is known as a dual run cap. It serves both the compressor and the fan motor. But it is only a run cap. Not a start cap.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 06:41 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: port st lucie, florida
Posts: 444
Rewards Points: 0
Default

No cold air from A/C unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
No, it is not an all in one cap.

If it has 3 separate terminals on it. It is known as a dual run cap. It serves both the compressor and the fan motor. But it is only a run cap. Not a start cap.
is known as a dual run cap . That is what i said in around bout way . If the cap is open the comp. will not run. I belive with out looking back at his post's. I belive he said the fan ran?? if so the comp. could be locked up. Here is more about the cap.

A dual run capacitor supports 2 electric motors, such as in large air conditioner or heat pump units, with both a fan motor and a compressor motor. The dual capacitor has 3 terminals labeled "C", "FAN", and "HERM" for the common, fan, and hermetic compressor connections.[3]
Round dual run capacitors (shaped as round cylinders) are commonly used for air conditioning, to help in the starting of the compressor and the condenser fan motor.[2] Dual capacitors come in a variety of sizes, depending on microfarads (F), such as 40 plus 5 F, and also the voltage. A 440 volt capacitor can be used in place of a 370 volt, but not a 370 in place of a 440 volt.[2] The microfarads must stay the same within 5% of its original value.[2] An oval dual run capacitor could be used instead of a round capacitor, but the mounting strap should be changed to better fit the oval shape.[2]
A faulty dual capacitor often becomes swollen up, with the sides or ends bowed or bulged out further than usual: it can be clear to see that the capacitor has failed because it is swollen or even blown apart with capacitor oil leaking.[4] The U.S. EPA stopped allowing manufacturers to produce capacitors with cancer causing PCBs, and because of the replacement materials, the capacitors now have a limited shelf life.[4] When a dual capacitor fails in an A/C compressor unit, either the outdoor fan does not run, the compressor does not run, or both the fan and the compressor motors do not run.[4]
del schisler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2010, 06:46 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,115
Rewards Points: 130
Default

No cold air from A/C unit


Quote:
It is only 1 cap. but it is a start and run all in 1 unit.
This is where you made it sound like its also a start cap.

Yes, there is a good chance, that the compressor side is open, or weak.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kitchen Faucet Cold Water Runs Hot Mthrboard Plumbing 8 08-02-2009 06:59 AM
Electric question from power pole to unit Slocalaman Electrical 3 11-06-2008 03:23 PM
Home Outside A/C Unit Won't Power Up ldeneale HVAC 3 10-29-2008 04:37 PM
central unit will not come on ....please help guyasc HVAC 5 08-24-2008 05:10 PM
Wall unit AC drips water inside fw2007 HVAC 4 08-15-2008 10:07 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.