Newmac Wood/oil Combo Forced Air Furnace Questions - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2008, 08:34 AM   #1
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

newmac wood/oil combo forced air furnace questions


okay, first question is a basic furrnace question. When it comes to safety shut off switches, is there supposed to be one AT the furnace? We have one at the top of the basement stairs, and the old furnace had one mounted to the furnace. It uad a jbox where the main power went in and hadd a switch there. The new furnace doesn't have that ability. The wiring for it is all external, but the box where the main power enters has other wiring in it and some relays (i think thats what they are) mounted ont he ourside of it. The furnace is only about 10' from the breaker box (if thtat matters).

2nd question:

With it being wood/oil combo, it requires 2 seperate t-stats. The oil hooks where on the back has a terminal block with 4 screws, T, 3/T, 2, 1. Right now the oil t-stat is hooked into both T's, and reading through the manual it seems that the 2 tstats need to be jumpered together with 1 wire, but I'm not sure where the other wire from the wood t-stat goes.

This is a Newmac CL 86-96C.

Advertisement

__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 10:27 AM   #2
Member
 
1610 CUB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Keokuk,Iowa
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 150
Default

newmac wood/oil combo forced air furnace questions


I'm not going to be much help but I believe there needs to be a service disconnect within 5 ft. of the furnace. It may need to be closer.

Advertisement

1610 CUB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2008, 06:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Mainah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oxford County, Maine
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

newmac wood/oil combo forced air furnace questions


In Maine; in addition to the stairway switch there needs to be one within arms reach of the burner- that way the tech working on it can shut it off in a hurry if need be
Mainah is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
combo furnace recommendations? billmac HVAC 2 09-22-2008 01:59 PM
Furnace advice - adding a wood burner to forced air CowboyAndy HVAC 4 03-03-2008 11:21 AM
Goodman GMP100-3 Forced Air Furnace Will Not Ignite Meerkat HVAC 4 02-05-2008 09:44 PM
Oil burning forced air furnace.... good bad or ugly? moneymgmt HVAC 2 06-21-2007 12:01 AM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 06:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts