Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-19-2008, 07:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

new (used) garage furnace


I just installed a used furnace I had given to me. It's a Miller residential natural gas forced air furnace. The model is G3RC080C-16 and the year is 1993. My old furnace was 15years old 20 years ago when I installed it, so it needed replacing. However, I don't know anything about this furnace. My old one was pretty simple. First, I have a problem with it. When I first installed it, about 6 weeks ago, right from the start it would come on, the burners would fire and the fan would come on. After it ran for maybe 2 to 3 min, the fan would cycle on and off very rapidly, then stay off for 30 to 60 seconds then come back on till the furnace shut down. This last weekend we got -35 below wind chill and i went into the shop and the face where thr eye is was all frosted up, the exhaust blower(?) was running continually, but the burners wouldn't fire. The igniter wasn't coming on, so I got a new igniter, but it still won't fire. Any ideas? Thanks.

coldnorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 09:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 0
Default

new (used) garage furnace


Make sure the vent isnt buried in snow.

SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2008, 06:48 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,061
Rewards Points: 12
Default

new (used) garage furnace


Yep, check your intake and vent pipe.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 10:09 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

new (used) garage furnace


Vent pipes are 4' above snow. Where else can I look to get it to fire. Vent fan comes on, igniter won't light.
coldnorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 10:42 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

new (used) garage furnace


Would the limit switch have anything to do with the furnace not coming on and is there any way to test the gas valve? Except for the cycling issue, the furnace worked until it frosted up. I took apart the vent and exhaust at the furnace and nothing. I know it worked this way before when I was testing it when it was first installed.
coldnorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2008, 11:29 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,061
Rewards Points: 12
Default

new (used) garage furnace


Did you check to see if the ignitor is bad.

Ignitors and limits can be checked with a multimeter.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2008, 09:26 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

new (used) garage furnace


The reset button was bad. It lights, but now the blower fan won't come on. I can only look thru the front of the furnace and I can't see a reset on the motor. Is there a reset for the blower also.
As stated in my original post, I did replace the igniter first.
coldnorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2008, 10:39 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,061
Rewards Points: 12
Default

new (used) garage furnace


The blower motor has an internal auto reset overload.

What reset did you replace.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 04:27 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

new (used) garage furnace


the switch on the exhaust motor.
I'm going to try to get a friend over to test the motor, but maybe the capacitor? The blower fan worked before this all happened. Now everything else seems to work but the blower.
coldnorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2008, 04:30 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,061
Rewards Points: 12
Default

new (used) garage furnace


Thats more of a clogged vent switch.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 06:33 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

new (used) garage furnace


Any thoughts on the blower motor? Capacitor?
coldnorth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2008, 08:19 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,061
Rewards Points: 12
Default

new (used) garage furnace


Possible.
But, without checking it with a meter, can't say from here.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
trailer furnace on blocks in garage creek1369 HVAC 4 12-17-2008 06:18 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
garage furnace mrseebro HVAC 3 01-07-2008 07:25 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.