New Tstats: Residential Carrier Weathermaker II Two-Zone Comfort Zoning System - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2011, 08:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New tstats: residential Carrier Weathermaker II Two-Zone Comfort Zoning System


Current heat pump model number: TCH430AKA1 Sears (OEM = Tempstar?)

Current thermostat model number: P274-0100 Totaline
(there is one upstairs and one downstairs for 2-zone system)
tstat Zone 1 has G, Y1, R, W1 and C wired.
tstat Zone 2 has Y1, R, W1 and C wired.

Current control box: Carrier Weathermaker II Two-Zone Comfort Zoning System
control box has RC, O, Y1, W1, G and RH wired. RC is jumpered to RH.
control box is about 10 years old.

Would like to change thermostats to something programmable.
What models would you recommend?

I am confused by the lack of W2 connections, since this is a 2-stage heat pump with typical fan coils/heat strips.

Advertisement


Last edited by JeanThomas; 03-24-2011 at 10:21 AM.
JeanThomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 06:59 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New tstats: residential Carrier Weathermaker II Two-Zone Comfort Zoning System


Better visuals:
share.shutterfly.com/action/welcome?sid=0AasXDlk5cM2LCJg
share.shutterfly.com/action/welcome?sid=0AasXDlk5cM2LCQA
share.shutterfly.com/action/welcome?sid=0AasXDlk5cM2LCYg
share.shutterfly.com/action/welcome?sid=0AasXDlk5cM2LCjA
share.shutterfly.com/action/welcome?sid=0AasXDlk5cM2LCrg

I think that everytime the tstats call for heat, BOTH the heat pump compressor and the heat strips are activated!

Can anyone confirm this?

Advertisement


Last edited by JeanThomas; 03-24-2011 at 11:39 AM. Reason: clearer pictures
JeanThomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 10:22 PM   #3
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,365
Rewards Points: 1,094
Blog Entries: 1
Default

New tstats: residential Carrier Weathermaker II Two-Zone Comfort Zoning System


your zone board is controlling the output, your input is a standard input for a conventional system and then the zone board deciphers from there what part of the system to use. if you call for heat from one zone. you can check the output of the board for 24v between C and G, Y1. If you have 24V between W1 and C while having the other 24V outputs then, yes, there is a problem.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zone system retrofit possible? perpetualjon HVAC 2 07-14-2010 06:23 PM
Adding new zone makapacs HVAC 0 11-26-2009 01:35 PM
Replacing Heat Pump system - Carrier or Rheem? CoolMan74 HVAC 6 06-28-2009 11:13 AM
Zoning With Carrier Infinity Furnace ddartmouth HVAC 1 01-05-2009 12:55 PM
Zone system not working with heat. deliriousga HVAC 5 12-29-2006 07:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts