New Thermostat Wiring Issue - HVAC - Page 5 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2012, 05:41 AM   #61
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,434
Rewards Points: 4,514
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Look for a float switch in the secondary drain pan if you have a secondary drain pan.

In the pic in post #14 it shows a white wire on the R terminal of the air handler. So good chance if you trace that wire, it goes to a float/water switch of some sort. And that switch is probably doing its job. Fix water problem, and switch should lose.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 08:27 AM   #62
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by aeroknight06 View Post
So if I'm reading this properly, you suggest removing the wires that go to the stat from the terminal block within the air handler and then checking the continuity with the ohm readings of a multi meter between the wires that were just removed at the stat. Since the wires are removed and if they are not damaged I should get 0 ohms, however if i get a reading i should then one of those two wires is broken. I would then move onto another wire to see if i got a reading to find out which of the previous 2 wires is the broken wire.

The opposite, actually, If there is a reading than the wires are good. Hopefully you have a digital meter that beeps when there IS continuity when you ohm. If there is no continuity then the meter should read OL for Open Line and will not beep, if it's digital.

It won't read 0 if there isn't any continuity, it'll read OL. Again, if digital.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 08:48 AM   #63
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


On the left would be the air handler, on the right the thermostat where you'd be using your meter.

No continuity/OL. Note the two wires on the left not touching.


1.1 resistance/wires connected on the left.




And this meter has a continuity setting which lights up a button as well as beeps when their is continuity without being on an ohms setting. When in this mode it does not show resistance so it does show 0 at all times. Again, wires connected at the air handler, the left.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 08:13 PM   #64
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


There is water on a drain to the right and a gray switch is raised I assume i have to clear the water from the drain pipe and then the unit should activate from what was posted a few ago. I'll try with a wet/dry vac and see what I get.
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 08:31 PM   #65
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Can you simply lift the switch out of the pan? Or push the float part down for a few seconds while the system is on call for cool?

This way you'll at least know if the system works or not, if this is the problem.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 09:15 PM   #66
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


I can & I just did and the unit comes on. Removed the switch and turned on power and it works, appears like there is just some water in the line. I have a wet/dry vac that I'll use on the line from the outside. That's what the guy at Lowes suggested. Thank you everybody for the help. It appears that the thermostat was never the issue, I just went in assuming it was an electrical issue with the stat and not a safety trip for the unit. Well learned some new stuff and will check the drain valve next time. Thanks again.
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 11:50 PM   #67
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


5 pages for a float switch, gotta love it!!

Glad you figured it out.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 05:30 AM   #68
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,434
Rewards Points: 4,514
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
5 pages for a float switch, gotta love it!!

Glad you figured it out.
Your love thread kept you distracted.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 08:35 AM   #69
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Your love thread kept you distracted.

Someone mentioned a float switch a few pages ago but it was ignored until you said it.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 03:00 PM   #70
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,434
Rewards Points: 4,514
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Someone mentioned a float switch a few pages ago but it was ignored until you said it.
I don't think the OP knew what TT meant by over flow switch.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 04:14 PM   #71
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: I live at heatpumpmechanic@gmail.com
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Apparently not. Btw, "Toptechnician is a handle used by several of us here, but now seeing it online it sounds a little arrogant; no?
We considered "donethat" but that would have just been too funny.
TopTechnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2012, 11:56 PM   #72
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Yea this operator doesn't know squat when it comes to AC units besides how to turn them on, though I did learn some more here recently. Sorry for wasting everyone's time for such a simple issue that I should have known about. But thanks for the help.
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 05:07 AM   #73
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,434
Rewards Points: 4,514
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


OP=Original Poster.

Sometimes we forget the terminology we use, is not known to the people we are responding to.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issue, need help JonMio Electrical 1 02-10-2012 04:40 PM
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 05:32 PM
Thermostat wiring Problem TRC Electrical 2 09-23-2010 08:37 AM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 08:48 PM
Thermostat wiring question cpuken HVAC 4 12-14-2009 08:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts