Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2012, 09:40 PM   #46
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: I live at heatpumpmechanic@gmail.com
Posts: 65
Share |
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Ok, since your thermostat doesn't have a common connection, I assume it takes batteries... or it is not digital at all...
Do you have good batteries in it? Is it indeed a digital thermostat?
TopTechnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:43 PM   #47
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Yea, it has batteries and the LCD is lit up so it has power. I assume it's a good thermostat it's new I just bought it the other day. Could I have shorted something out in the thermostat with having the yellow wire that used to be W1 going into the W/AUX port instead of Y like Honeywell later told me.
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:53 PM   #48
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: I live at heatpumpmechanic@gmail.com
Posts: 65
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


No, it shouldn't. Remember, when we tried twisting R and G together, your fan didn't come on. Something else is wrong. I think that the next thing I would try is to take a short piece of wire with the ends stripped and touch R and G at the air handler circuit board. The blower relay should click, and the blower should come on. If it doesn't, something is wrong with that blower relay. This wouldn't explain why your outdoor unit isn't running, but that could be a result of this blower problem. It would also be quite a coincidence that this happened at the same time that your thermostat went blank. Have you had any storms recently?
I am going to have to sign off for tonight; I will check back tomorrow. If anyone wants to jump in and help, please feel free.
TopTechnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:55 PM   #49
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Thanks for all the help I really appreciate it. Didn't have any storms yesterday when it went out though.
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:59 PM   #50
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Well when I put the jumper between R & G the fan does kick on. Which is strange cause when i twisted the wires at the thermo they did not.
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 10:27 PM   #51
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,446
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Have you checked the red wire for 24 volts at the stat?
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 10:34 PM   #52
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


I just tried, I put one of the leads on the red wire and tried some of the other leads but didn't get a voltage. The C wire that was in my older stat, honeywell said to not use, I figured that was what provide power to the stat but that is now done with batteries.
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 10:35 PM   #53
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by aeroknight06 View Post
Well when I put the jumper between R & G the fan does kick on. Which is strange cause when i twisted the wires at the thermo they did not.

not possible
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 10:39 PM   #54
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Maybe i didn't twist them together good enough the first time, but i guarantee when I put the jumper between the screws on the terminal block it did come one.
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 10:46 PM   #55
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


I just rechecked the twisting of R & G cables by attaching a set of alligator clips and the blower still did not kick on. However when putting a jumper between the R & G on the terminal block in the unit the blower does kick on. Don't know why but that's what happened.
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 10:51 PM   #56
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,446
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by aeroknight06 View Post
I just tried, I put one of the leads on the red wire and tried some of the other leads but didn't get a voltage. The C wire that was in my older stat, honeywell said to not use, I figured that was what provide power to the stat but that is now done with batteries.
Very wrong. Batteries simply power the display, they have absolutely nothing to do with the power which is sent from the R on the terminal block to the stat. Get you a stat with a common.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 10:54 PM   #57
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,446
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by carmon View Post
not possible
If he has a break in a wire it's very possible.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 11:06 PM   #58
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,446
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Is that common still hooked up in the air handler? If so, have you checked for 24 volts on that wire at at the stat?

Before you go and actually purchase a stat with a common, best to check to see if any of the wires are indeed broken to the stat. What you do is remove the red and the green wire (any two wires will work to begin) from the terminal block and wist them together, after they are disconnected from the stat. Then you ohm out (test for continuity) by placing one lead on each wire at the stat. If it tests OL then a wire is broken.

If it's good than simply use one of those first used wires, either the r or the g, with another different wire twisted at the air handler and check the two newly twisted together/joined wire set at the stat. If any of those pairs test open than by process of elimination you find the broken wire.

It very well may simply be this.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 11:28 PM   #59
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


So if I'm reading this properly, you suggest removing the wires that go to the stat from the terminal block within the air handler and then checking the continuity with the ohm readings of a multi meter between the wires that were just removed at the stat. Since the wires are removed and if they are not damaged I should get 0 ohms, however if i get a reading i should then one of those two wires is broken. I would then move onto another wire to see if i got a reading to find out which of the previous 2 wires is the broken wire.
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 11:56 PM   #60
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 513
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


It may not be 0 if the wires are good, but it will be very low If one is broken though, it will read whatever your meter reads when the leads are off entirely in the ohm setting. If your meter happens to have a continuity setting that beeps when the leads touch, that will be easier for this particular test.
Evstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issue, need help JonMio Electrical 1 02-10-2012 03:40 PM
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 04:32 PM
Thermostat wiring Problem TRC Electrical 2 09-23-2010 07:37 AM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 07:48 PM
Thermostat wiring question cpuken HVAC 4 12-14-2009 07:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.