Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2012, 08:15 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Share |
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Yes, the circuit breaker was ON. Sounds like it's a bigger issue then. The screws are a little rusted so pressed the leads up in with the wires and still got negligible voltage.
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 08:33 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: I live at heatpumpmechanic@gmail.com
Posts: 65
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Is there a disconnect box near the air handler? There probably isn't, since there is a circuit breaker in the air handler itself. That being the case, the next place I would check is in the main panel box. Obviously, I would make sure the circuit breaker to the air handler is on. Then, you would take the cover off of the panel and check for 240 volts at the breaker, like you just did in the air handler. You may have a bad breaker.
TopTechnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 08:37 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Are you referring to my main CB panel for the entire house? The one that controls all the lights and everything?
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 08:39 PM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: I live at heatpumpmechanic@gmail.com
Posts: 65
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


That's the one. DO NOT open it up if you don't think you are able to do it safely. I am simply telling you what a service man will do; whether or not you want to attempt it is entirely on you.
TopTechnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 08:40 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


I'll got take a look, just wanted to make sure i knew what box you were referring too.
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 08:40 PM   #36
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: I live at heatpumpmechanic@gmail.com
Posts: 65
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Let's back up one moment... check the line side (the top two terminals) of the circuit breaker in your air handler. Maybe THAT circuit breaker is bad...
TopTechnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:07 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Well I pulled off the cover of the main box and tried there, but didn't get anything. But then again i also put the leads on my dryer and it didn't give anything either. I pushed the leads against the screw heads on the CB. I know the dryer works cause it's on. Not sure if my volt meter is messed up (though I tested it on a double A battery and got a reading so i don't think so). The other thing is I'm trying to measure from either the wrong locations and I'm not putting the leads in the proper place. Should I get a reading off of the screw heads where wires are plugged in, I thought I should?
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:11 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: I live at heatpumpmechanic@gmail.com
Posts: 65
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Yes, the screws should give you a reading. Make sure your volt meter is set to AC Volts... and if you have several different scales, pick a scale that is over 240.
If a circuit that you know is hot does not give you a reading, then your meter should not be trusted on anything else. Without a good meter, I'm not goinig to be much help...
TopTechnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:12 PM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


should read voltage at your drier if it works..... until you can trust your meter stop doing hvac work ..go relax on the couch.... you need to have a working meter......
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:15 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Thanks for all the help. It works on a double A but the leads into the meter seem to be a little touchy gonna try to see if I can get a reading on the dryer again, but yea if not it's not gonna do much good.
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:17 PM   #41
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


It also may have been some operator error, had it set for DC current not AC
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:23 PM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: I live at heatpumpmechanic@gmail.com
Posts: 65
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Ok! Well, let's back up and start with checking for 24 volts AC at R and C on the low voltage terminal board in the air handler, with the circuit breaker on.
TopTechnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:27 PM   #43
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


It was operator error, I apologize it appears like i have been making you waste your time. I went back and checked the voltage between the R & C in the Air handler with the circuit breaker ON & I got a reading of 28V.
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:31 PM   #44
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: I live at heatpumpmechanic@gmail.com
Posts: 65
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


LOL! No worries...
Try this... turn the fan to ON at the thermostat, and check for 24 volts (or 28) between G and C on the terminal board in the air handler.
TopTechnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:35 PM   #45
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


I get 0 volts between G & C, with the meter set to the right setting. Checked that just to make sure & rechecked the between R & C and still had the 28V there to make sure i wasn't messing things up.
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issue, need help JonMio Electrical 1 02-10-2012 03:40 PM
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 04:32 PM
Thermostat wiring Problem TRC Electrical 2 09-23-2010 07:37 AM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 07:48 PM
Thermostat wiring question cpuken HVAC 4 12-14-2009 07:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.