New Thermostat Wiring Issue - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-13-2012, 07:36 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: I live at heatpumpmechanic@gmail.com
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Try this: turn the power off, take the green and red wires loose from the tstat, twist them together, and turn the power on. If the fan doesn't come on, then you are not getting power to the stat. Do you have a voltmeter, by chance?

Advertisement

TopTechnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 07:45 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Yes I have a volt meter.
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 07:50 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: I live at heatpumpmechanic@gmail.com
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


...And did the blower come on?
TopTechnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 07:50 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


I twisted the wires and then turned on all the breakers but did not hear anything come on. The blower is in the inside unit correct?
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 07:56 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: I live at heatpumpmechanic@gmail.com
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Yes, it is in the inside unit. Put the wires back. Where in your house is the indoor unit? (Basement, attic...). And do you know if you have a condensate pump? Or, does the a/c drain to a floor drain?
TopTechnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 07:59 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


The inside unit is upstairs on the 2nd floor. I don't think there is a condensate pump, there is a drain that goes outside. There is a white pipe with a cap next to the upstairs unit that I have been told leads to an outlet next to the outside unit.
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 08:05 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: I live at heatpumpmechanic@gmail.com
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Do you feell comfortable taking the covers off of your indoor unit? I'd look for a low voltage fuse next. A picture with the covers off would be great...
TopTechnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 08:12 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Here are some pictures of the upper wiring:
New Thermostat Wiring issue-inside-top.jpg

Zoomed into left side:
New Thermostat Wiring issue-inside-left.jpg

Zoomed into middle:
New Thermostat Wiring issue-inside-middle.jpg

Zoomed into right side:
New Thermostat Wiring issue-inside-right.jpg
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 08:20 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: I live at heatpumpmechanic@gmail.com
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


I think i see the fuse... Its an automotive type; behind the tan wirenut on the orange wires. It has two blue wires connected to it. Turn the power off before poking around, though! (I see the breaker is off; just making sure it still is)
TopTechnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 08:25 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


I see the fuse. If that's the easy fix though it doesn't appear blown. The wire between the 2 halves is still connected and I don't see any black marks. I can get a new one though if you think that's the issue.

Attached is an up close view of the fuse.

New Thermostat Wiring issue-fuse.jpg
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 08:46 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: I live at heatpumpmechanic@gmail.com
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


With the power on, can you check for 24 volts a/c from R to C on the indoor unit terminal board? I can't see the R terminal, but I assume it is the terminal on the far right...?
TopTechnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 08:56 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


I'm not getting any voltage between R & C terminals. Placed the leads on the screws and it's not fluctuating besides a few 0.1 pos & neg. And R is on the terminal block it's the top one.
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:02 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: I live at heatpumpmechanic@gmail.com
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Check to see that you have 240 volts on the circuit breaker, from the red wires to the black (two bottom connections).
TopTechnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:08 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


Again not really getting any voltage, only a few tenths when moving the leads. Definitely not 240V.
aeroknight06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 09:12 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: I live at heatpumpmechanic@gmail.com
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

New Thermostat Wiring issue


!
I neglected to mention that this test was with the circuit breaker turned on... was it on? And no voltage? That would mean you have a problem upstream in the electrical circuit, like in a disconnect, or in the main panel...

Advertisement

TopTechnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issue, need help JonMio Electrical 1 02-10-2012 04:40 PM
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 05:32 PM
Thermostat wiring Problem TRC Electrical 2 09-23-2010 08:37 AM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 08:48 PM
Thermostat wiring question cpuken HVAC 4 12-14-2009 08:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts