Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2011, 11:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

New Thermostat tripping breaker


I just replaced an old Ritetemp 6008 thermostat that wasn't keeping the temperature very constant with a new Honeywell RTH2410 programmable thermostat. Ever since I installed the new thermostat the furnace breaker will trip after the heat has been running for a little while. I can't pinpoint what makes it trip the breaker/ I've seen it cycle on and off without problem but every night I wake up cold and see that the breaker is tripped.

The old rite temp had two incoming wires:
Red Wire - Rh
White Wire - W
And a jumper between the Rh and the Rc. (We don't have a cooling unit, just the furnace).

The new Honeywell didn't have Rh and Rc, just an R terminal so I wired it:
Red Wire - R
White Wire - W/Aux

Any ideas as to what might be causing this to trip? It never happened with the old thermostat so I don't think there is a problem with the wiring at the furnace. Thanks in advance for any suggestions - I've perused the forums before, but this is the first time I've not been able to find an answer from another question so this is my first post.

klayland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 11:17 PM   #2
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New Thermostat tripping breaker


Do you have gas or electric heat?

Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 12:36 AM   #3
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New Thermostat tripping breaker


Some thoughts,
One is the red and white wires are low voltage and you breaker is line voltage.I would be checking the amp draw on the blower motor or anything else that is line voltage.
Two, red to R and white to W is correct so that is not your problem.
Not likely but check your filter.
If you have a humidifier make sure its not leaking on the line voltage.Or some other leak outside the furnace leaking on anything line voltage.
Lets also check and make sure the breaker isn't weak and needs replacing.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 10:52 AM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New Thermostat tripping breaker


pop the CB panel check the breaker wires going into the furnace power breaker remove the stat from the subbase and jump R to W to get a soild run see if it trips...the motor is the load there maybe short cycling fan with new stat jump will tell if it is if you get a solid no trip run.check the booklet for the new stat see if you have a fan delay or warm up or short cycle whatever there calling it this week...might need an adjustment.when that fan starts it is 10X the rated amps for a milli seconf and the breaker heats up a quick restart will trip it.but as said your stat has nothing voltagewise to do with the power and breaker excet for a fan cycle
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 03:40 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New Thermostat tripping breaker


Thanks for the replies.

I've got an electric furnace, no humidifier, and I just changed the filter when we moved in a couple months ago, but I'll double check it. The only special thing the thermostat is supposed to do is start early so that you reach your selected temperature at the time you selected for the program. Other than that, no fan delay or anything fancy.

I'm definitely a beginner when it comes to wiring so it might take me a while to try out all of the suggestions, but I'll let you know if anything seems to work.
klayland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 03:51 PM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New Thermostat tripping breaker


so you have resistance heater strips like a giant toaster and that is some load on that breaker forget the motor...might be cycling on a hi limit which again gets back to tht 10X draw on the braeker....check the terminals on the strips for tightness..if i'm right on the electric furnace no gas right
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 04:23 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New Thermostat tripping breaker


Make sure the stat is set to electric heat-(stat controls furnace fan).
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 04:19 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New Thermostat tripping breaker


OK so last night I did a little more tinkering. I checked all the connections on the terminal and they are all secure. I double checked the thermostat and the jumpers are all set for controlling an electric fan (although I don't think this should matter since I didn't hook a wire up to the G terminal for the fan).

There are two breakers for the furnace, and from the wiring diagram it looked like the fan motor and two of the heating elements and their controls are on one breaker and the other two heating elements and their controls are on the other breaker. The breaker that keeps tripping is the one with the motor on it - I'm going to try and run the motor tonight on it's own without switching the heating elements on to see if that trips the breaker too - that would narrow it down to something with the motor, but we'll see what happens.
klayland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 04:32 PM   #9
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New Thermostat tripping breaker


even better put the motor on the breaker with the heat that isn't tripping....sounds like a weak breaker on the tripping one... lets see
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 06:30 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New Thermostat tripping breaker


Just got a multimeter today and it appears that both breakers are fine - so that's not it. Still searching....
klayland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 08:08 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 0
Default

New Thermostat tripping breaker


Does this meter have an amp clamp?

Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
honeywell thermostat, thermostat installation


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI Breaker Tripping Spa Light eaposition Electrical 21 09-08-2010 09:57 PM
AC tripping breaker inside the unit lauratodd HVAC 1 09-01-2010 05:30 PM
Breaker Tripping Jeridmar6 Electrical 15 07-10-2010 08:20 PM
Tripping Wrong Breaker woodworksnmore@comcast.ne Electrical 15 03-28-2008 01:47 PM
HW tank breaker tripping arichard21 Electrical 6 10-31-2007 04:13 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.