New Thermostat Acting Strangely - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-18-2010, 01:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

New Thermostat Acting Strangely


I have a propane furnace and central air conditioning. I have a programmable thermostat now but I bought a newer one that had more programming features. I have a 4 wire system with a common (blue) wire that has never been used. When I hooked up the new thermostat, the instructions told me that I had to hook the common wire up to it along with all of the other wires.

The thermostat worked fine with one exception, the heat works fine but when I turn it on cool, it runs for about 3 minutes, then the display on the thermostat goes blank (it's a touch screen) and then the furnace kicks on. Unfortunately, the installation guide that came with the thermostat had some troubleshooting guidelines, but everything I tried hasn't helped. I checked the voltage to the thermostat and it's fine.

I put the old stat back on and it's works fine. Any help would be greatly appriciated. Thanks.

Advertisement

stormchaser88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 01:24 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,458
Rewards Points: 4,562
Default

New Thermostat Acting Strangely


Brand and model number of thermostat would be nice.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2010, 05:25 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

New Thermostat Acting Strangely


Pretty sure you need 5 wires. R-Y-G-W-C
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier Edge Thermostat Installation Issue ptalar HVAC 1 07-13-2010 06:40 PM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 08:48 PM
Two Wire 24V Thermostat to Digital Thermostat on Pellet Stove jrodtaclet Electrical 4 09-15-2009 06:37 PM
Replacing thermostat...................... sktn77a HVAC 6 09-02-2009 11:07 PM
Furnace acting strangely Boulderv7 HVAC 7 01-08-2007 07:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts