Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-19-2010, 03:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North central Nebraska
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new thermostat


I just installed a wood stove in our basement last week. I figured it was time to take a dent out of heating here solely with the propane fired Lennox elite series furnace.

The newer furnace was wired up with the buildings original 2 wire thermostat.
I would like to install a mechanical Honeywell 'stat so I may run the blower continuosly. That way, the furnace blower will help circulate the heat throughout the house better. (even though the stove is not attached to the plenum), at least the air will be moving it better out of the basement!

I see the terminal bus where the 2 wire 'stat hooks up has 6 terminals. I imagine those are for various thermostat configurations.

Can anyone tell me which one's to use for the 'fan on' continously?
and before I head off to the supplier, how many conductor wire will this take? 4?

Maybe there is a way to 'jumper' it, with a switch at the furnace itself, thereby foregoing the need for a new 'stat?

Thanks!
Bob

rancherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 04:11 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,628
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

new thermostat


Yep. Run a 2 wire 18/2 LVT wire (buy off the roll they cut it for you) from HDepot and a light switch in a 2x4 metal switchbox from the Depot and mount it on the return duct with a cover. Hookup to R and G on the circuit board and Bob's yer Uncle.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
rancherman (12-19-2010)
Old 12-19-2010, 06:13 PM   #3
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

new thermostat


Fan on: R - g
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JJboy For This Useful Post:
rancherman (12-19-2010)
Old 12-19-2010, 09:43 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North central Nebraska
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new thermostat


Thanks! I appreciate the info! Now I just wish I cut more wood before the snow got deep.....
Merry Christmas!!
Bob
rancherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 10:05 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

new thermostat


Here's another option for you. Get a second thermostat and set it a degree or two below the other. Wire R and W on the second thermostat to r and g on the furnace. New thermostat will bring on the fan when the room cools off and shut it off when it's warm enough. If the wood burner goes out then the propane will come on. Got yourself a fancy pants two stage system that way for the price of a thermostat
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Marty S. For This Useful Post:
rancherman (12-20-2010)
Old 12-20-2010, 10:07 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North central Nebraska
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

new thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
Here's another option for you. Get a second thermostat and set it a degree or two below the other. Wire R and W on the second thermostat to r and g on the furnace. New thermostat will bring on the fan when the room cools off and shut it off when it's warm enough. If the wood burner goes out then the propane will come on. Got yourself a fancy pants two stage system that way for the price of a thermostat

good idea! I think I will try the jumper first just to see if the heat is moved around better, then go with the second 'stat' I like that idea!
Thanks Marty
Bob

rancherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier Edge Thermostat Installation Issue ptalar HVAC 1 07-13-2010 05:40 PM
Honeywell Prestige HD thermostat wiring 1H/1C + Humidification System TekGamer HVAC 0 07-09-2010 11:58 PM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 07:48 PM
Two Wire 24V Thermostat to Digital Thermostat on Pellet Stove jrodtaclet Electrical 4 09-15-2009 05:37 PM
Thermostat from Manual to Digital trinamillersmit HVAC 5 07-02-2009 09:21 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.