New System, Now More Humid Than Before - HVAC - Page 4 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2012, 06:32 PM   #46
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

new system, now more humid than before


Unfortunately for the installer it was the service manager who sold me the system and the same guy installed this thermostat after the fact as the techs who did the change out had initially installed a VT3000 TALKING THERMOSTAT.

Right Away I told them this isn't what I bought and they said it was a miscommunication at the office. I guess when he showed up to put the right one in he either didn't have the balls to admit they needed to get a different thermostat or they intentionally brought the wrong thermostat to save a few bucks.

I'll have the IAQ by the end of the week.

Advertisement

Dale Gribble is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dale Gribble For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (05-02-2012)
Old 05-02-2012, 09:08 PM   #47
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

new system, now more humid than before


What effect did the additional insulation have on the old unit....or wasn't it done until the new unit? The crawlspace needs to be ventilated. Pick up a cheap hygrometer (spelling) and check the attic, the crawl space and place it over one of the vents when it's cooling. It's very possible that your old unit was performing weekly which effectively could make it equivalent to a 1 ton unit....it ran longer and therefore took more humidity out of the structure. What was the supply temperature at the vents with the old unit?...and now the new unit? What calculations were done to show you actually needed a 2 ton unit, especially after your R-38 attic redo?
I have a 3 ton unit for 2800 sq ft.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 02:36 PM   #48
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

new system, now more humid than before


I know it's been a couple months but I thought I'd give an update. Well, within a week of my last post I had the tech come out and "fix" it again. This time he put in a Honeywell IAQ with the control module and was able to utilize 3 of the four wires already installed.

He also adjusted the CFMs from 1,200 to 800 (2 ton) . He told me he thought he had done that already, but there are two CFM settings on the furnace: AC and Circulate. He had previously only adjusted the circulate CFMs to match my tonnage.
After the new thermostat and the CFM adjustment I noticed an immediate increase in my comfort. However, the next day I noticed that once the temp reached the target point the outdoor unit would shut off while the indoor unit would continue to run in attempt to bring down the RH.

The next day the outdoor unit would not kick on and the indoor unit would not shut off.

Tech came out and checked the unit. The common wire had come undone at the connection on the board in the furnace. He also said he had the IAQ set to dehumidify with a whole house dehumidifier and not by AC.

Tech said problems were fixed and he left. I took a look at the IAQ and he had just set it to dehumidify off. Idiot.

I set it to dehumidify by AC and now it works like a charm. It's been almost 2 months now. It is continually 73° and 40-45% RH. I live in Tallahassee, which might be one of the muggiest cities (big town really) in the country. For the month of May I used 33% less kwh than May 2011 (1090kwh vs. 1640kwh). Which is about a $70 savings for me, which I'm pretty satisfied with when I can keep it that cool, which I've only ever been able to do in January.

Last edited by Dale Gribble; 06-21-2012 at 03:00 PM.
Dale Gribble is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dale Gribble For This Useful Post:
GarryE (06-21-2012), Missouri Bound (06-21-2012)
Old 06-21-2012, 02:58 PM   #49
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

new system, now more humid than before


Fantastic. It's nice to here when a problem gets resolved, no matter how or how long it takes. And say "hi" to Hank for me.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 03:35 PM   #50
vln
Underwriter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 96
Rewards Points: 75
Default

new system, now more humid than before


Glad to see somebody followed up! Hope everything goes well from now on.
vln is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 03:41 PM   #51
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

new system, now more humid than before


Thanks to everyone for your help. I don't think I would have gotten the IAQ or even had some re-wiring done to accommodate the previous thermostat if it wasn't pointed out to me here. Thanks again everyone!

Advertisement

Dale Gribble is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old low voltage lighting system - switches stopped working. zepman Electrical 10 04-16-2014 07:49 AM
A strange one - polybutelene piping used in radiant heating system GordCooper Plumbing 4 03-13-2012 11:09 PM
New Heating & AC system takes long time to warm up home poston8 HVAC 10 11-10-2010 04:26 PM
New House, new system, poor cooling Faulknertw HVAC 15 07-08-2008 11:06 PM
Size A/C system properly 70stang HVAC 1 03-26-2006 08:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts