Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-03-2009, 08:11 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

new system install.....questions


Ok I have a new heating and cooling system being shipped and have a few questions.
Models are as follows.
All Goodman
SSX160481
CHPF4860D6 + TX5N4
GMV950905DX

http://www.goodmanmfg.com/Portals/0/...2/SS-SSX16.pdf
http://www.goodmanmfg.com/Portals/0/...2/SS-GCoil.pdf

http://www.goodmanmfg.com/Portals/0/...2/SS-GMV95.pdf


old system.

Allegiance 10 7A0048A100A0
American Standard TXHC41A4H9A0
Consolidated Industries HBA100ND5R

http://www.trane.com/webcache/un/spl...n_03012002.pdf
http://www.trane.com/webcache/un/spl...3_12011999.pdf

I have to remove the old system and place the new system in the attic. I have a HVAC guy coming out to do all the stuff that I can’t do (top off the system with R410A sweat the copper to make the connections…..etc) However the more I have done the less he is going to charge me. So please double check my to-do list.

So for the outside unit I need to install a lager pad to fit this unit, attach power to unit. (I believe the old system had two 20amp breakers on it…….looking at the manual that should be ok for my new unit)

In the Attic the air flow will go from left to right. (return--- Furnace-----coil-----plenum where all my ducts connect)

Adjust return plenum so that it fits furnace.

Now my coil should attached directly to the furnace correct…..no sheet metal needed??

My cold air plenum might need to be adjusted to fit my coil.


Should I buy a drain pan for my coil or just build one from sheet metal?

Connect Vent pipe to new furnace.

Thermostat is a RiteTemp 8085C……..will this well with my new system being that it is a variable speed furnace? Do I need to run additional wires to the thermostat being that the old system was a single speed setup?

What am I missing? What else can I do?

Also out of curiosity i paid $2200 after tax credit for the new system....did i get a good price or could i have done better?


Last edited by firedogut; 10-03-2009 at 08:14 PM.
firedogut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 08:38 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

new system install.....questions


the return and supply connections might need some adjusting(1) suggestion is to have a sheetmetal pan with a 1" lip put under the air handler/coil/furnace with a 3/4 female threaded adapter so you can pipe that out to a viewable area.this would be considered your emergency over flow pan just in case the condensate pan within the coil area(as shipped)gets blocked up.make sure the duct pleniums both supply and return are screwed in not duct taped 360 degrees around.cork pads can be gotten at grainger supply to put under the air handler before it is placed in the pan.then the coil also has a 3/4 female fitting and that is your primary condensate pan and needs to be trapped out and run out side.

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2009, 09:29 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

new system install.....questions


Ah so the new coil comes with a drip pan built in. this drip pan will be piped outside....that makes life easier.

A few more questions.

Should i pipe the dip pan that goes under the furnace/coil out side also? I can just add a T to the existing PVC pipe. One side to the coil and one side to larger drip pan.

Do i need to put the furnace on 2x4 or 4x4's? The manual states that 0" is required below the furnace but it needs to be on wood.
firedogut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 05:27 PM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

new system install.....questions


the emergency pan should be directly piped out to a front stoop drop down or over the kitchen window...reasoning being if it is filled with water that will let you know the main pan is blocked up and needs cleaning.if you pipe it to the coil pan drain out you will have constant flow there aon hot days and the overflow situation will come thru the cieling below the unit!local www.grainger.com has the vibration pads you can walk in with cash no problem..item #5C027...after you connect all the components put them on corners and in the middle total 6 will do it..let the ducts pleniums hang free no support needed there.make sure you trap that coil if the exsisiting doesn't have it.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 07:10 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

new system install.....questions


thanks again
firedogut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a New Central Air System vdu HVAC 7 09-01-2009 03:45 PM
Generator Install - A few questions... robmypro Electrical 20 08-31-2009 07:50 PM
forced air heating system questions drewhart HVAC 6 01-25-2009 09:19 AM
Sprinkler System - Installing Valve Box tazmajazz Plumbing 3 01-06-2009 09:14 AM
boiler / Over-pressurizing cparke HVAC 1 05-21-2008 05:54 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.