New Stat Install Issue - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-11-2012, 09:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 4,116
Rewards Points: 2,704
Default

new stat install issue


hello, folks.

i am looking to install a new Hunter stat in my new (to me) house.
my problem is the wiring color of one wire. on the old dial stat, R=R W=W G=G Blue = Yellow (there is no yellow wire). on the new stat there is no R, only G W Y Rh Rc. RH & Rc are connected by a jumper wire.

i am assuming that R goes to the Rh ? Blue wire goes to the Y connection ?
and of course G=G and W=W. is this correct ?

thanx

Advertisement

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 09:18 PM   #2
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

new stat install issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
hello, folks.

i am looking to install a new Hunter stat in my new (to me) house.
my problem is the wiring color of one wire. on the old dial stat, R=R W=W G=G Blue = Yellow (there is no yellow wire). on the new stat there is no R, only G W Y Rh Rc. RH & Rc are connected by a jumper wire.

i am assuming that R goes to the Rh ? Blue wire goes to the Y connection ?
and of course G=G and W=W. is this correct ?

thanx
Place the R to either Rh or Rc but leave the jumper between the Rh/Rc

Yes the blue will go to the Y

Advertisement

__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 09:44 PM   #3
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 500
Default

new stat install issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
hello, folks.

i am looking to install a new Hunter stat in my new (to me) house.
my problem is the wiring color of one wire. on the old dial stat, R=R W=W G=G Blue = Yellow (there is no yellow wire). on the new stat there is no R, only G W Y Rh Rc. RH & Rc are connected by a jumper wire.

i am assuming that R goes to the Rh ? Blue wire goes to the Y connection ?
and of course G=G and W=W. is this correct ?

thanx
Don't put that stat on take it back and get honeywell's stat. I find hunter stats are nothing but crap stats
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Tator1076 For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (03-11-2012)
Old 03-11-2012, 10:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 4,116
Rewards Points: 2,704
Default

new stat install issue


101. that did it. seems to be working fine thanx

Tator. i needed to put it in, as i believe the original was defective. but i will look at the honeywells. thanx
if i may ask. why do you say they are crap ?
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 10:52 PM   #5
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

new stat install issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
101. that did it. seems to be working fine thanx

Tator. i needed to put it in, as i believe the original was defective. but i will look at the honeywells. thanx
if i may ask. why do you say they are crap ?
They are the cheapest made. Honeywell or Robertshaw are better.
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 11:00 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 4,116
Rewards Points: 2,704
Default

new stat install issue


thanx. this one is going back. but i have to use it for a week.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 06:44 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,259
Rewards Points: 1,046
Default

new stat install issue


I have used various number of stats in the past including Hunter.

The Hunter's I have installed have worked properly holding temperatures and turning equipment on and off with no problems.

Sometimes people only look at and pay for the name of material.

Leave the Hunter on.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 07:43 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

new stat install issue


I get paid for two or three hunter replacements a month. They are crap. Go with Honeywell
Patrick Eubanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 08:40 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,259
Rewards Points: 1,046
Default

new stat install issue


Now that the Hunter is installed and operating properly why not just leave it on and see what kind of product it is rather than buying a new Honeywell (excellent product) and going through removal and installation and cost.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 06:56 PM   #10
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 500
Default

new stat install issue


Honeywell has 5 years warranty on most stats
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 07:30 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,526
Rewards Points: 4,690
Default

new stat install issue


I change out a lot of Hunters.

Hunter makes a great ceiling fan.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:48 PM   #12
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

new stat install issue


Hahaha,I have made the same conclusion a couple of times.
I remember one week where I had two Hunters and three Jade thermocouple calls for service.It was the only service calls I got that week.
Instead of being gratefull for junk however I just hated the stores that carries that junk more.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2012, 10:50 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 4,116
Rewards Points: 2,704
Default

new stat install issue


i bough it at walmart, so i can return it. no money lost. installing one is pretty easy, so no real time/effort lost. my wife is disabled, so i need reliability.

Advertisement

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oil tank whistle valve install toxic oreo HVAC 10 12-27-2009 09:42 PM
Anyone install a tin/copper style ceiling? flashme18 Remodeling 7 07-19-2009 08:56 AM
When to install tile flooring? MT Stringer Remodeling 4 10-28-2008 09:49 PM
Preparing to install Kerdi on bathtub surround DIY-Renovator Flooring 18 07-17-2008 11:42 AM
Can I install 3/4" HW on top of the rolled floor membrane there now? davevarga Flooring 3 03-09-2008 11:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts