Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-22-2010, 02:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

new register in overhead duct


Finishing off my basement and I'm soffitting(?) in the furnace supply/duct.

I've added two 6 inch runs to this duct and a return for the room but need to add a register to it which would be directly overhead/below the duct. No new run just directly into it.

The drywall will be right up against the duct. In a previous project I've cut out an opening to fit a register in the duct and then a matching opening in the drywall. Then just added the register and screwed into the duct.

Is this the proper way to do this? Can't think of any other way, thought I'd ask.

Thanks

mmcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 03:36 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,527
Default

new register in overhead duct


The drywall isn't suppose to be touching the duct.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 04:22 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default

new register in overhead duct


Well I guess the drywall is not connected to the duct due to the soffit being off it somewhat, but why not? Condensation issue? Inspector had no problem with it.

Anyways, still looking for the proper way to add this register when it's not off a run. There currently is one cut into the duct from when the house was built with a register directly attached to duct. Still the question, how to go thru drywall and into duct work when not using a resgister box at end of a run.

Guess I could build a little wooden frame around the duct opening that is between the drywal and duct?
mmcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 04:33 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,527
Default

new register in overhead duct


If the drywall is touching the duct. The duct would be cut that it has flap that extends past the drywall, and then is folder over the drywall.
The corners are then caulked so as not to leak air.

When the sofit is framed away from the duct. Generally. A sheet metal collar is made and installed on the duct before the drywall is installed.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 04:43 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

new register in overhead duct


Get the right register for the "throw" that you want.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 04:56 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Default

new register in overhead duct


I like that flaps idea. Didn't think of that...

Thanks

mmcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to attach ceiling register to duct? adrianm HVAC 6 03-25-2010 07:29 AM
Extend Duct Register philly529 HVAC 2 03-08-2010 04:51 PM
Return duct "boot or no boot" ads67 HVAC 16 01-10-2009 09:38 AM
Attaching Flex duct to register boot avshockey HVAC 15 12-03-2008 08:07 PM
Condensation in Wall: Can I Seal a Dryer Duct With Caulk? xquercus HVAC 5 07-01-2007 02:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.